Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-09-2004, 09:21 PM   #1
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Question What do you want?

Any tools you think maya needs but doesn't have. I'd like to here some sugestions so i can write some plug-ins.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 09:35 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

a UI builder.
by that plugin that lets you create various windows and add buttons, tools, or special view set ups for animating and modeling or dynamics and rendering. something that let you build and customize what is in front of you based on the task at hand. wether it is modeling animation or dynamics etc...
that would be very helpful to those who don't have time to learn the portion of UI building with MEL and the API.
notice i say the "portion" of UI building, i say this because it is an entire thing on it's own, nonetheless i'm not saying it's the hardest
either that or a noise generator, that can generate terrain or deform a surface and animate it. .. sort of like max modifyer thing.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 09:44 PM   #3
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

A UI builder and task specific setups would be nice and easy and i like the idea of a terrain generator so i'll add both of those to my "to do" list.

EDIT: - What do you mean by animate it?

Last edited by ckyuk : 06-09-2004 at 09:47 PM.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 11:40 PM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ckyuk


EDIT: - What do you mean by animate it?
i.e. turbulance, magnitude, frequency, fall off, buoyancy,
or cycle etc.. basically you could for instance apply it to a character's face and i twill make it wobble, or apply to a plane and might be able to create a procedural lava type mesh or simply act like a noise deformer, or apply it to a sphere and displace it like a peice of gum.. that sor to of animation
good luck.
:tup:
the UI builder would be a very useful tool for any sort of project.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 02:08 PM   #5
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I just saw the new 3DS Max 7 features and the one thing that I saw that was nice was a 1st person camera view that lets you move through your just created scene - now that is something thats would be very nice to have in maya !..

you create your scene in wire and scroll through with it like you were actualy there !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 02:13 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I think Maya has that already, if I'm not mistaken... I've never used it, but I recall reading something like that a while back.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 04:57 PM   #7
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

are you sure as Ithe only way I can figure out how to do that is moving the camera with your mouse - I never knew it has it - I don't thinks os... but now you are making me curious.. goingto look it up

Will get back !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 06:40 PM   #8
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...516#post130516 !!! Oh, and I'm not spamming, just checking if you could make an audio controlling node creator ..
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 10:36 PM   #9
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Protheus
I just saw the new 3DS Max 7 features and the one thing that I saw that was nice was a 1st person camera view that lets you move through your just created scene - now that is something thats would be very nice to have in maya !..

you create your scene in wire and scroll through with it like you were actualy there !
Just make a path and attatch a camera to it and bingo.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 12:12 AM   #10
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I'm with twisted on this one. Motion path + Cam are your friend for this.

Now my question is.. so max didn't have this till v7 ? or just didn't have a button for it. Not that a button for it would be a good thing.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 12:27 AM   #11
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

After thinking about it, I think the "game camera" was an addition to Maya through the Maya Games Plugins. Sorry. Not native to Maya. But it is available.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 01:19 PM   #12
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yeah but when you create a path and attach a camera to it it is resricted to the path is is assigend to - with a 1st pwerson view you move freely ad maybe it is in the game plugin - I remember that there is a game plugin set - what is the name of if ??

And yes I guess there is a button that creates the 1st person view and lets you walk around
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 08:22 PM   #13
Russell
Registered User
 
Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 370
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What about a Light Meter type function like Max has. It might help light scenes a little better. Just a thought.

Russell
__________________
Russell Bolding
CEO/Founder - Russelltopia Studios
Web:http://www.russelltopia.com
Email:russbo@russelltopia.com
Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 12:00 AM   #14
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

what is a light meter? Sorry, Im not that familliar with Max. But if you are talking about setting up sun automatically by coordinates i think it is an option in the bonus tools
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 01:15 AM   #15
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I think there talking about light meters like that are used in photography. Like perhaps have a locater and facing direction where you can get a idea of how much light is coming from a direction. I could see where it might have its uses. Not to sure it would be anything accurate like measuring in lumes (sp? think that’s the name of the measurement).

of cores there is always the values recorded in the rendered images..
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.