Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-09-2004, 06:09 AM   #1
eugenechia
Subscriber
 
eugenechia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Any Recommendation for Graphic Cards ?

Hello, I need some guide on getting the right graphics card to go along with Maya.

The Geforce mx 32 mb video ram I have now is very sluggish on my set.

Thank you for assisting !
eugenechia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 06:36 AM   #2
eugenechia
Subscriber
 
eugenechia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have in mind the ATI RADEON 9600 pro

Issit good for 3D ?

Thanks
eugenechia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 06:50 AM   #3
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The 9600 is ok, but you can definitely do better. I'd recommend at least a Radeon 9800 for good performance. For even better performance, you'll want to go with a FireGL (ATI's workstation cards) or an Nvidia Quadro card. You can check Alias's Qualified Hardware list to see what works best with Maya.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 02:07 PM   #4
Mantat
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Everywhere I looked, people recommend NVidia with Maya. ATI has some compatibility issues.
Mantat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 09:26 AM   #5
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i got a Radeon 9600 pro.. sometimes whenever i render the program stops responding and crashes.. not sure if thats an issue to do with the video card or what.. but also the fan on my card is going out and getting really loud.. so i need to replace that... in other words.. dont get a 9600 pro.. its not worth it.. if you want a highquality Nvidia card get a 6800GT.. i've heard nothing but good about them
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 09:56 AM   #6
eugenechia
Subscriber
 
eugenechia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got the Geforce 5700LE 256mb. seems pretty alrite, no glitches or anything. Worthy of the price
eugenechia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2004, 09:32 PM   #7
themacawguy
Registered User
 
themacawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

i have a GeForce 5950 Ultra 256MB :-D
themacawguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2004, 09:38 PM   #8
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

I will hopefully be getting quadro fx 3000 soon.... Still twisting my wifes arm =)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2004, 09:46 PM   #9
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I have the MSI GeForce 4200TI (soft-quadro'ed)....works wonderfully.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2004, 09:48 PM   #10
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Right now i have geforce 4200 ti but not a MSI.... had it modded but had to reinstall wihtt he new HD..
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2004, 03:17 AM   #11
3Demon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 264
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Get a Wildcat Realizm 800

I'm using a Radeon 9550 and that's pretty crappy....... probably cause I can't use it at AGP8X.

Anyway, all the cards recommended are very good. The biggest factor, like always, is money
3Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 11:16 PM   #12
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kurt you lucky bastard how mutch you will pay for that pice of hardware (quadro fx 3000), i have gf 3 ti 200 with 128 mb and card is not agp8x but it`s working beather than my last card ati 9200 with 64 mb, i think that ati is not compitable as nvidia with maya!!!
__________________
Best resolt would come, if every one in the group are doing what is best for himself and the group!!

Sorry for bad English, See ya
dead mosquito-blog-on english too
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 04:39 PM   #13
ciaran711
Subscriber
 
ciaran711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Uk (Wales)
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

I just upgraded from a 9600 pro (Softmoded to a 9700) i now have an Nvidia 6800 Ultra, this thing is a monster (not quite up to quadro standerds on rendering etc but i wanted it for gaming also. and the quadro doesnt lend itself to games as well) i would highly recomend at LEAST a 98. but my friend had a 98 pro and maya just wouldnt run on his comp lol :/

Get a 6800 GT or vanilla model, a vanilla 6800 is the same price as a 98 pro
__________________
"Everybody loves a joker, But no one likes a fool"
ciaran711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 09:39 PM   #14
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Got Geforce 6800GT 256MB too. Works slick like gooses sh1t
Best bang for a buck in the nvidia family atm. Anxiously waiting for a modded driver for it...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 10:36 PM   #15
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What is the price for that GT or Ultra model???
__________________
Best resolt would come, if every one in the group are doing what is best for himself and the group!!

Sorry for bad English, See ya
dead mosquito-blog-on english too
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.