Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-09-2004, 12:35 AM   #1
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Transferring UVs

I don't know if this is basic or not but here's what I'm trying to do:

I have 2 copies of the same polygon model. One of them has good UV mapping that I used to make maps in Photoshop. The other copy has default UVs. I want to copy the UVs from the first copy to the second. I'm running Maya 5. The books I have say that I can select the first copy then select the second copy then simply use the transfer command to transfer the UVs. I can not find any reference to a "transfer" command. Does anyone know how to transfer UVs from one poly model to another (assuming they have the same topology). Thanks!

By the way, the object that has the default UVs has been rigged to a complete model and is part of a character set. This might complicate things.
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 12:57 AM   #2
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

View the tutorial @ www.mtmckinley.net
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 03:02 AM   #3
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you Peltra
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 05:27 PM   #4
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actually, that tutorial didn't help but I found the answer I was looking for somewhere else. Here is the command to transfer UVs from the 1st selected poly model to the second selected poly model (remember, both models have to have the same topology):

type in: performPolyTransfer 0;
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 06:23 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Polygons > Transfer

Make sure UVs are set in the options.

Not sure what tutorial Peltra was referring to?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 02:56 AM   #6
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

polygons> transfer

Oh man! I must have looked at that dropdown menu a dozen times and didn't see it.... Well, I guess it's time to get a pair of glasses.

Thanks!
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.