Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-09-2004, 12:44 AM   #1
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help making lightwells for car

Ok, my first nurbs modeling. This is a hood of a car and I need help rounding out the lightwell.

First off, I trimmed off the lightwell with a projection tool using a circle and then I used trim tool to remove it. Now the hood instead of being an isopalm, is a trimmed edge. I was wondering if that would work like an isopalm. I tried using the trimmed edge of the hood's trimmed hole, and the isopalm of the cylinder i'm using for a lightwell to round out the edge of the hole, but it dont work. How do i fix this.

I also tried fillete before this, but it didn't work right so its kind of frustrating. Been messing with it for about 2 hours now and still can't get it right.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2004, 08:31 AM   #2
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are you useing a tutorial by chance? When I was doing the same thing I had the same problems. In the end I gave up on the aproach, I have never liked fillets though.

So if anyone out there has the answer I would be interested to hear it.
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2004, 10:57 AM   #3
Mr_Flamenco
Registered User
 
Mr_Flamenco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oman
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi guys

I am not sure if this will work .. because I myself always face many problems when I model in NURBS .. so I always find out a way to get my self out of it and proceed the work ..
Here we go.
First delete the history of your surface then (its just a habit), then duplicate it and delete the history for the duplicated surface as well now try to do what you wanted to do
Or one other thing convert it to poly then again to NURBS (not recommended)

Hope these help
Have a nice day every one
Saeed AG
__________________
Mr_Flamenco™( the Man Who Summoned By Mankind)
Mr_Flamenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2004, 09:43 PM   #4
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nope, I'm not doing a tutorial, just a free form thing. I still hadn't figured out the problem yet, I've deleted history for every single patch, nothing works, I hate nurbs, I really do.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.