Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-09-2004, 12:33 PM   #1
cracker
Subscriber
 
cracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default weird shadow

I'm getting this shadow when I render my model, there is a poly behind where that shadow is but I'm not sure why its causing a shadow on the outside of the model?
Attached Thumbnails
 
cracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 02:37 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

The GIJoe plugin has a tendancey to do that when you have geometry behind another. Might try looking for a different lighting solution, as I'm not positive how to stop that from happening with GIJoe.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 04:10 PM   #3
cracker
Subscriber
 
cracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The thing is, it does the same with maya's renderer as well?
Attached Thumbnails
 
cracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 04:13 PM   #4
cracker
Subscriber
 
cracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

s'ok I've solved the problem now
cracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 04:18 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

dmap resolution?

Let us know how you solved it for others with the same problem.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 04:23 PM   #6
cracker
Subscriber
 
cracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I selected the poly causing the shadow and simply went to the attribute editor, under render stats deselected casts shadows and receive shodows.
cracker is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.