Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-10-2002, 11:39 AM   #1
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Plugins Plugins Plugins !!!

I am subcribed to 3Dworld, and excellent magazine all about 3D and stuff. I recently red that Discreet has put a new version of max on the market, 3DS Max 5.

The most annoying this about these program's is that when a new version comes out 99% of all the plugins you have do not work ! So in the time i was working with max and upgraded to a newer version you had to waith for x months to have an update on your plugin.

So the people at discreet thought about is i guess and what they did is that the plugin used fr version 4 is also compatible with version 5 (99.9% of all the plugins should work fine !)

So then I wonder why A|W doesn't do the samething with Maya !

When you have a new version the plugins I use do not work ! and to wait for an updat is very very annoying !
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2002, 06:11 PM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yeah max 5 has been out for quite a while now
most of my plugins work with maya 4 when they were designed for 2.5
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2002, 06:44 PM   #3
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Its a strange thing but I have NO plugins at all...except the 3dimport that I have now deleted as I just tend to build my own..

So my question is... what ones do you guys reconmend to make life easier ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2002, 06:48 PM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

skeleton works i posted it in another thread, its a gr8 script for building skeletons with IK
http://www.aliaswavefront.com/en/Com...rks/index.html



theres also www.highend3d.com
im sure uve heard of it, but for those who havent its packed with tools and scripts for lots of programs
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.