Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-10-2004, 03:16 AM   #1
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default Quake 4 and maya?

Anyone seen the new PCGamer magazine? In it they have a 10 page Quake 4 review and in one of the screnes showing one of the models i recognized the interface. It was the bottom right section of the screen and i recognized the time slider and keyframe markers and ik handles of the model. They also showed a few of the wireframes. I was wondering, if anyone else has seen it why the models are so insanely polyheavy? There seems to be 3-4 polys where 1-2 will do.

If you need me to i can scan the image(not the article though).

Anyone know of any other games made with maya?

And is it possible to extract the models from these games?
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004, 01:33 PM   #2
TychoCelchuuu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Usually you're not allowed to scan copyrighted material like that to post on the internet or something. Lots of games are made with Maya: pretty much anything from Lucasarts, at least, because I know they use Maya. Extracting the models is tough, and usually only works if the developers have provided an SDK, or Software Development Kit. The models are super duper mega high poly because those will be converted into normal maps that will be placed on the lower poly models.
__________________
I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.
-Bilbo Baggins
TychoCelchuuu is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.