Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-10-2004, 02:56 PM   #1
brosseau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Texture Flickers

Hi,
I am working on an internship project where I am creating a 3D map of my college's campus and the surrounding area. I have a polygon terrain which I textured with an orthographic image of the area. When I rendered a simple camera fly-through, though, there was a lot of tiny flickering all over the terrain texture - especially where there were white or light colored objects on the texture. I assigned it as a lambert, so it shouldn't be reflective. I'm noticing the same effect on some of my other textures - brick walls, gravel etc, but not as noticable.

Is this a lighting or texturing problem? I don't know much about the settings in either lighting or texturing. Can anyone give me some suggestions as to where to begin?

Thanks!
brosseau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 03:25 PM   #2
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Two things that I would check is that you don't have over-lapping geometry and the other is the direction of your normals.

If you need more explination then just ask
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog

Last edited by Tim_LIVID : 06-10-2004 at 03:30 PM.
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 03:27 PM   #3
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Also what type of shadows are you using D-map or ray traced and what renderer are you using Maya Software renderer or Mental Ray? but sounds like a geometry problem as mentioned above
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 03:37 PM   #4
brosseau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks so much for the quick replies! I am rendering in MentalRay, but I'll have to get back to you tomorrow about the settings used - I have picked up this project from another intern and he set all the render settings, so I'll have to look them up.

Normals.......ah, I have read about them but really don't understand them. How do I check what direction they are in? I am positive that there is no overlapping geometry - some of the objects that the textures flicker on - including the terrain are based on simple poly plains, so I'm interested to learn more about the normals.

Thanks!
brosseau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 03:40 PM   #5
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

So if you are using mental ray this may be the problem. Are you using global illumination because you might not have final gather rays high enough. Usually this will cause a problem during animation. The reason is that when you render with final gather on by default it will create a new map for everyframe so this may affect the render and get the artifacting on the surfaces. Check it out and let me know.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 05:40 PM   #6
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As for checking the normals (just for reference).

Select the object, goto
Display ----> Polygon Components ----> Normals

This will show the direction that your geometry is faceing, but I have a feeling it is your render options. But it's good to know about these never the less.
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 09:43 PM   #7
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If there is a normal problem I would suggest using the Edit polygons>normals>conform. This is helpful if most of the polygons are correct, but some are not. It will make the ones that are not,conform to same direction as the majority. If it doesn't solve the problem you learned something new anyway.
goosemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 07:56 AM   #8
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know I have
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 01:54 PM   #9
brosseau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, I checked the normals and they are ll facing in the correct direction. Just in case, I used the conform command anyway - thanks for that suggestion.

Here are the settings in Mental Ray:

Ray Tracing is "on" with all settings at "1", scanline "openGL" and faces "both".

Shadows has Shadow Method "segments" and Shadow Maps "on".

Motion Blur, Caustics and Global Illumination and Final Gather are all unchecked.

Sampling Quality has all Contrast settings set to "0.1", Min Samples "-2", Max Samples "0", Sample Lock is checked and Jitter is unchecked.

I have never adjusted any settings in Mental Ray before, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks again.
brosseau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 01:56 PM   #10
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Is it possible to get a screen grab and post it?
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 06:49 PM   #11
brosseau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think I'm going to have to try re-rendering the file before troubleshooting this problem any more. I have been bouncing back and forth between two different computers for this project because this one doesn't have the RAM to handle rendering this file in Mental Ray any more - so I render on a different computer and I'm now wondering if settings on the other computer affected the render. I have some older still shots that were rendered on this computer that are much better quality overall.....thanks for everyone's input, hopefully when I take a closer look at the settings when I render again I will find the problem I had.

I appreciate your suggestions!
brosseau is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.