Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-10-2004, 01:27 PM   #1
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Optimizing computer for Maya

Hello all,

I have a Toshiba Satellite Laptop with the following specs:

32 MB GeForce 460 Go video card
512 MB Ram
Intel Pentium 4 2.2 Ghz CPU

I often have problems with lag in Maya. Can someone tell me what to do to optimize the computer or things I can do in Maya to reduce lag?

Thanks in advance,

Drought
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2004, 04:30 PM   #2
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

a new video card wouldnt hurt, although i dont know much about laptop video cards... everything else is perfectly suitable for maya. Some people prefer to have atleast a gig of ram also (such as me) but 512 is supposed to be the minimum and when i had 512 in my old machine running this software it seemed to work for me. your processor is pretty nice, i wont even have to comment on that... all in all to make story short.. get a better video card, everything will run better....with the specs you have now.. that card has to be bottle necking your system
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2004, 05:23 PM   #3
gohan1842
Subscriber
 
gohan1842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have a 64 meg geforce card and 320 megs of ram. and a 1.3 ghz
processor and maya runs well for me.
gohan1842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2004, 07:48 PM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

where do you see the lag ? when doing what ?

512mb is "minimum" your ok as long as you don't have to much loaded at a time.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2004, 12:41 AM   #5
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the replies guys. I wasn't even aware that I could change the video card on the laptop. I thought I was pretty much stuck with what I have.

Pony, I am currently doing Kurt's dog modeling tutorial. Things start out fine, but I get the lag after I put the reference plane up and begin adding the geometry. When you say, "too much loaded at a time", I am assuming there is something that can be done at this point to relieve the strain on the system? I deleted the history, but is there perhaps something else I could do?

Drought
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2004, 03:48 AM   #6
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well if your video card is integrated i dont know if you can upgrade.. like i said i dont know much about how things are set up internally on a lap top as i've never owned one.. but on a desktop if you have an inegrated graphics card you either have to buy a new motherboard (which if you have an HP you cant do becuase for some reason they dont use ATX cases) or go with a PCI graphics card.. which is the cheapest alternative
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2004, 04:16 AM   #7
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

well if it slows down when you pan around the sceen thin its lickly the video car. If its slow when you pull verts around thin its probably a ram prob.. expecaly if it only happence once you get a lot of polys in there..

if your not always useing the image plan's for ref.. you can speed things up buy terning them off. make a hot key for it if you want. Need help with that just let me know.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2004, 05:02 AM   #8
Drought
Subscriber
 
Drought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ok, thanks for the advice guys.
Drought is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.