Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-10-2002, 10:39 AM   #1
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Isolating Vertex Selection

O.K. so you-know-who has made it to Maya! I have a little problem though. I am used to AM, with this program you can select groups of points and hide others, lock them or invert the selection and work on specific areas - great tools.

Now I have been dabbling in Maya is there an equivalent? I can select vertices on Alfie but how do I isolate them? Can you put vertices into select sets and lock, hide or isolate them?

I want to be able to do this so as I can get at the toungue inside his mouth so he can poke it out... It also means I can import all my other models as *.dxf or *.obj inot Maya without remodelling them.

Anyone out there???
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 01:57 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

The isolate thingie can be found under the Show menu (seen on your attachment image above). Don't have access to maya right now, but it's there...trust me

*EDIT*
Show -> Isolate Select -> View Selected - there ya go...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!

Last edited by kbrown : 02-10-2002 at 04:47 PM.
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 05:20 PM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Sorry, I made a mistake. It doesn't work on vertices but it works for faces...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 07:01 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I know you can do this for nurbs, but I'm not sure about polygons.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 09:11 PM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

It works. I just tested.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.