Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-10-2004, 04:07 AM   #1
Lotus7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Importing/Exporting Skin weights

Well found out that probably the only solution for my problem will be aplaying the blendshapes before skinning him BUT redoing all the weights wont be fun so im trying to export the skin weights then un bind him, the make the blendshapes and apply them and last re bind him importing the original skin weights. BUT after doing all this process, when i put to import the weights it just gives me result 1 in the script editor and doesnt change the weights. well i unwraped the head and exported the weights as a jpeg and i checked the images and they got the weights oin them.. so the problem is the importing process.... anyone plz know why this isnt working!? its supposed to be so simple and its turning in such a big nightmare...
thanks anyway..
Lotus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2004, 04:18 PM   #2
Nimmel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maya's export skin weights is the worst feature in the package. It exports image files when the data it should be exporting is skin weights. If you don't have fantastic UV's you will not get the weights to save correctly, and even if you do have good UV's they wont save exactly how you painted them.
The solution to this is to use a script that saves the real weights as a text file.
Using the skinCluster and skinPercent commands you can get all the correct weights. Luckily there is a script on highend3d.com that will do this. I belive it is called saveSkinWeights.mel and it saves a text file with all the weights so you can load them back in correctly. It can also save weights on point position so you can change the vertex count. By this I mean a point at position XYZ has weight A, instead of vertex 1 has weight B.

Hope this helps. I took a looked at your earlier post and without seeing the maya file I can't see what your problem is, although I'm going to guess it's to do with your wrap deformer. Personally I never use wraps as they give you too many problem.

Richard
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Richard Cheek
http://www.freelance-animation.com
----------------------------------------------
Nimmel is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.