Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-10-2004, 05:57 PM   #1
reallee realz
Registered User
 
reallee realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default trying to figure out how to take model to photoshop

I want to texture my model in photoshop but cant figure out how to toggle between maya 5.0 and photoshop is there a toggle method or how do i import my model to photoshop?
__________________
reallee doe
reallee realz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2004, 06:11 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

you don't import the model to photoshop. You only create the texture in PS and then import it into Maya.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 07:31 PM   #3
reallee realz
Registered User
 
reallee realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks but how do i match it with my model is do i save it as atiff or something or is there a way to bring up the maya file in photo shop
__________________
reallee doe
reallee realz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 07:42 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Once you UV map the model, in the UV Texture Editor, position the UV shells in the upper-right quadrant of the editor and take a UV Snapshot. You can then bring that into PHotoshop to paint over.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2004, 03:04 PM   #5
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Like Mike says you need to UV map it first, but what Mike forget to tell you is that here on SM in free tutorial section is nice tutorial on basics of texturing witch Mike him self have make and that I suggest you to dload and watch. BTW mike nice work on that last tutorials, and equally nice Kurt’s dog tutorial.
__________________
Best resolt would come, if every one in the group are doing what is best for himself and the group!!

Sorry for bad English, See ya
dead mosquito-blog-on english too
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.