Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-10-2002, 08:45 PM   #1
rubyspeak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Maya 3.5.1 crashing on OSX

Hello!! HELP!!

I am using Maya on 400mhz G3 ImacDV Special with 512mb RAM with ATY
Rage 128 graphics card.
Everytime I use CV curves or EP curves and try to manipulate and move
points the macintosh crashes and I have to reboot. Also when moving
any NURBS object or rotating it crashes also.
Is there anything I can do to resolve or help situation.
It renders fine and everything else is smooth..

Thank you
rubyspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2002, 10:27 PM   #2
badbunny
Subscriber
 
badbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

You could get a PC?

sorry, cheap shot.... <smiles sweetly, and looks all innocent>

Last edited by badbunny : 03-10-2002 at 10:30 PM.
badbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2002, 10:57 PM   #3
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

<-- Can´t stop laughing now ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 01:32 AM   #4
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

My right side goes numb when someone says "Mac".....although some of the higher end stuff is pretty decent.......left side still goes numb

Have you tried reinstalling Maya?
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2002, 02:51 AM   #5
rubyspeak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks

I have not tried reinstalling yet. I will, but I do not think thats it.
It looks like I might have to get a G4 but was trying to work
around it for now.
rubyspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 03:46 AM   #6
rubyspeak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default tried reinstalling maya

Hello

I tried to reinstall maya but that did not work any other suugestions?
rubyspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 01:24 PM   #7
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I don't know anything about Macs but this could be a gfx card problem. I once tried to instal Maya PLE on my laptop PC, which has no 3D accelerated GFX card. The PLE launched but crashed immediately when I tried to do something...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 06:58 PM   #8
Ian
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ha ha after the typical mac jokes, I would just like to say that I have been running Maya PLE on my Mac (G4 400Mhz 128 ATI Rage, +400 RAM) very regular since it was released and have had very few crashes, about 3 times. So the program itself is very reliable. Perhaps try looking to see it there is any new driver updates!
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 10:03 PM   #9
rubyspeak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Driver updates where to look?

Thanks Ian

I will start the hunt for some graphic card driver updates. The card
in the computer is a ATI Rage 128 accelerated card 8mb video RAM
Is it possible that its because I am using Maya on a G3.
When I move say a nurbs sphere around a little with the move tool
after about 5 or 6 moves it crashes in OSX.
Thank you in advance for any help.
rubyspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 06:33 PM   #10
rubyspeak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up That was the ticket boys !!

Awesome !!

Ian & KBrown Thank you so much that was the ticket. I found new
updated GFX drivers and now no more crashes and Maya is up and
running smooth as a ferrari on Mac OSX
Yeah Yippee !! Now I can dig into this wonderful software and really
start learning something. This website rocks !!! Keep up the great work
here.
rubyspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 07:42 PM   #11
Ian
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No problem glad I could help. Enjoy using Maya and believe me theres alot to learn.
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2002, 08:17 PM   #12
Cyrius
Subscriber
 
Cyrius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In front of my mac (France)
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi !!

i have a G4/400MhZ with 512Moram and a the ati rage 128 (bad graphic card) but maya 3.5 works perfectly on my computer ! there is no problem

but iI THINK u have an "illegal" copy of maya....
i m not very sure but it could be a reason..
sry
__________________
Sorry but my english is very poor !
MaY ThE FoRcE Be WiTh YoU !
Cyrius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2002, 09:03 PM   #13
badbunny
Subscriber
 
badbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

??????
badbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 12:14 AM   #14
rubyspeak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default none

Your using a G4 that why its fine. My copy is quite "legal"
rubyspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 09:37 AM   #15
Cyrius
Subscriber
 
Cyrius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In front of my mac (France)
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok

i m really sorry ..
and sorry i can help it work for me .
__________________
Sorry but my english is very poor !
MaY ThE FoRcE Be WiTh YoU !
Cyrius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.