Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-11-2004, 09:26 PM   #1
crazycatz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default nurbs render problem

hello,
i have just a small problem with my nurbs character when i render it. i converted it to nurbs from a sub-D model so i can add fur to it later on, but when i render it right now, without fur, you can see little seams between some of the nurbs patches like in the picture. will these go away when o add fur to my character, or how can i get rid of them? also, when i move the skeleton thats attached to the character, some seams get very big and noticable. i haven't weighted the skin yet, so will that help get rid of some of the seams? thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
 
crazycatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2004, 10:43 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Make sure Advanced Tessellation is on and play with the subdivision settings there.

More explicit instructions here: http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...d+Tessellation
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2004, 10:54 PM   #3
crazycatz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

awesome thanks! i'll let you know how it goes!
crazycatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 12:20 AM   #4
crazycatz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

alright, i did that to all the nurbs patches, and not when i go to batch render, in the status line it says result: rendering and it just stays there. nothing else happens, and i left it for awhile. i then tried to cancel it by going to cancel batch render and it says result: unable to cancel the current render. is it just taking forever to render because theres so many nurbs patches? theres alot... like 700, maybe more.... it didnt take this long before i changed those settings about tesslation, does that slow it down alot?
crazycatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 12:57 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yes, I imagine it would slow down a little bit. Maybe decrease the number of subdivisions.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 01:17 AM   #6
crazycatz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

alright i can try that, but um, heh sorry, how?
crazycatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 05:12 PM   #7
jiilin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think you need to turn on smooth edge, the seam is caused by the edge of your surfaces, rendered at different teselation

select your patch, attribute -> tesselation : options
jiilin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.