Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-12-2004, 09:11 PM   #1
MastahUK
Subscriber
 
MastahUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Templated polygon turns into a wireframe

I'm following a tutorial at the moment that requires me to work on just one side of a model, and duplicate the other side as an instance. The tutorial then tells me to right click on the new, instanced side and select "Actions > Template". Supposedly, this shouldn't change how the polygon is viewed, but no matter what I've tried I can't get it to appear smooth shaded like everything else.

I'd appreciate it if someone could tell me where I've gone wrong.
MastahUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2004, 09:48 PM   #2
steffenoid
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, I'm still fairly new at maya, but if I'm understanding your problem correctly, you need to select the poly half that isn't smooth, and go Edit Polygons>>normals>>Soften/Harden>>option box

Select all soft, and click OK. voila!
steffenoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2004, 02:25 AM   #3
MastahUK
Subscriber
 
MastahUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, perhaps I wasn't very clear. The duplicated and templated half isnt shaded at all in any of the perspective views - it just appears as a grey wireframe even when I select 'Smooth/Flat shade all'. It's not really that great a deal as it turns out, I've just continued with the tutorial without templating one side. I'd still like to know how its done though, because it would make things a bit easier.
MastahUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2004, 05:40 AM   #4
blomkaal
Subscriber
 
blomkaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 816
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

You could add it to a layer and then make it a reference...
blomkaal is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.