Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-10-2006, 11:06 AM   #91
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mirek03

can i find that info in my camera manual?? its only a little one chip (ccd, i know that much )sony.

what is 'cmos' and what is 'film back ' (size of film??) mean in english.
Well, CMOS is an acronym that stands for Complementary Metal Oxide Substrate. What the?? Basically, it's just an image sensor-type.

Remember the old video-cameras, with CCD or Charge Coupled Device sensors. Due to the way they work, there's at least 2 limitations I know of, however they produce richer tones and cleaner hues than CMOS.

CMOS Good Points:
----------------
1)Very cheap to manufacture - uses same fabrication plants & lines as other computer chips.
2)Nice fast sensor.

CMOS Disadvantages:
--------------------
1) Can only see intensities of light, cannot distinguish colour.
2)Somewhat prone to 'noise' in the image.
3)Filtered colour representation of varying accuracy;


The first disadvantage mentioned is what the whole push towards RAW images is all about.

Since the sensor doesn't see in colour, it must be 'tricked' with either (a)the use of a filter or (b) the use of a corrective computer algorithm based on the sensitivity of a particular sensor technology to each of the 3 primary colours.

In the RAW mode, these 3 data sets R, G and B are all stored uncompressed and un-composited, Allowing _much_ greater control over exposure etc.


Anyway, if the prog's asking about the sensor it's probably so it can set a threshold to avoid noise (and unduly heavy processing) in the image.

As for for the 'film-size' I'm guessing that that has something to do with the size of film that is suited to a lens of a particular focal length and f-Stops. Though I'm a hardware guy, so plz forgive any mistakes I may make.
Anyway, on the box or the instructions or even on the front of the camera &/or lens it should tell you what it's equivalent to. I've got a vid cam that says the following:

f=3.0~45mm F1.2 Ø 30.5
JVC VIDEO LENS
15x OPTICAL ZOOM / AF.

I take that to mean that the aperature can close down to f=3.0 and open up to f=1.2. The focal length changes from 45mm to 30.5mm, putting it in the range of a 35mm camera.

If there wasn't a drop-down combo-box with selections in it already i.e 8mm, 35mm, 70mm. then i would just try changing the values around, observing the resultant changes until (a) I worked it out, or (b) I was going krazy and had to ask for help.

Once again, not so sure if I am correct Re: the lenses.
Hope it helps you and if I have screwed it up and somebody knows better, I'd love to learn.

Simon
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 08:50 AM   #92
eagleeye678
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a quick question, after tracking and solving, what view port do you creat your object in, say it's just a table and you want to put a cube on the table, where in scene in maya do you put the cube, what camera will you be looking out of.

Another, how does this get rendered, do you render with the background movie, ? Thanks
eagleeye678 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 04:22 PM   #93
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Once you have produced a good solve, then import your object into the scene and position it in as many views as necessary to line it up the surface of your table.

Light the scene as per the lighting in your real scene and render out the object. Then use a program like AE to composit it over your Video of the Table.

Cheers
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2006, 03:38 PM   #94
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by BMS
In both clips I simply used Adobe Premier.
Premiere? No, no, no... Premiere is more of an editing suite. you need a good compositor like Shake or After Effects. Using a Mac - try Final Cut Pro.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2006, 04:03 PM   #95
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Dave,

There is nothing wrong with using Premier to see how the tracking came out.

Your post is a little late, because I've mentioned already mentioned AE in a number of my posts. Read the one directly above the post you just made.
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2006, 03:01 AM   #96
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Ah yes. Well, before my previous post it looked like you were having trouble. 4 pages later I guess I just didn't read through enough. You went from asking questions to instructing others. Good job!

If you want a good tracker, try Boujou or Matc Mover. Maya Live is okay, but the industry doesn't use it much. We don't even teach it at our college. Boujou and MM are so much easier and more accurate, and it's so easy to import the camera info from and to each application. Give those a try.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2006, 08:06 AM   #97
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Never heard of Matc Mover, but I have been planning on trying Boujou out. A mate of mine purchased Boujou last year, so I'll trying it out on his PC first. If its good, I might purchase it.

The problem for me is this is all a hobby for me and as you can see from this thread I have slowly been learning more and more. I can only spend so much on all this stuff, but its a lot of fun.

I will be trying another Match Move shot soon and I'll take the footage to my mates PC and try out Boujou. Thanks for the info Dave.

Cheers
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:21 AM   #98
jana_zapak
Registered User
 
jana_zapak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Maya Live

Hi every body,

i want to learn about some concepts about maya live tutorial
if any one knows the site which contains these tutorial please reply me
__________________
janakarajan
jana_zapak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 02:06 PM   #99
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Very interesting. I read the few first posts and looking forward to test this.
I create a HumanIK skeleton: http://simplymaya.com/forum/showthre...t=37416&page=3
and I'm looking forward to add facial expressions. I was considering few tools until I stumbled Maya Live Today.

Thank you Lisa for the step by step, will read the rest of this thread once I get back home.

Would it be hard to add facial expressions with the captured data with Maya Live?
I'm only in my early research on this as I just found out Maya Live Today.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 02:17 PM   #100
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

This thread is 7 years old.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 02:19 PM   #101
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

also, maya live is for camera tracking. facial tracking is pretty tricky, i doubt it would be very good for object/facial tracking.
I did some facial tracking once... don't think it was with maya live tho and it was just tracking movement not expressions thats probably done with mocap.

Last edited by honestdom : 18-04-2012 at 02:21 PM.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 02:47 PM   #102
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Hi honestdom,

I know, but I stumble this video and was hoping if I could do the same then link it to the HIK skeleton.


Maya Facial Capture - YouTube
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 04:43 PM   #103
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

pretty limited but looks fun. good luck with that.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 02:46 AM   #104
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Hi honestdom,

Why is limited? Would you recommend any other software?

I registered for the Facial Animation Toolset at http://research.animationsinstitut.de/44.0.html and got the download link. Will have a spin on it after work Today.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 04:01 AM   #105
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Bugger, after some digging, found out that Maya Live no longer exist in Maya. It was removed and discontinued.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.