Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-01-2005, 08:16 PM   #1
IMG4
Subscriber
 
IMG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default add a backround

hi,
i'm tired of the black backround on all my render, but i dont know how change the backround. anyone can help me?

IMG4. :bandit:
IMG4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 10:40 PM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Open up up the outliner and select the camera you're rendering from (perspective camera is the default). Now open up the camera's attributes in the attribute editor and go to the environment tab. Adjust the background color to whatever your heart desires.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:39 AM   #3
IMG4
Subscriber
 
IMG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx, but i got another problem
i got two camera and i want to put a picture in backround, how can i make that if i dont want to see the same picture on each camera?

IMG4. :bandit:
IMG4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 02:00 AM   #4
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Are you trying to setup reference images?
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 02:15 AM   #5
IMG4
Subscriber
 
IMG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no, i'm doing the Izzy Mig tutorial and he dont say how put the a backround. So i got a mig flying around and two camera.

well i'm not got some problem to explain so here a pic:

so a want to put a panoramic backround to have a nice result with the two cam

IMG4. :bandit:
IMG4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 03:35 AM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Have you gone through all 6 parts of the tut? The description reads that it comes with " High-medium res environment textures" and goes over "Creating a basic environment" as well as "usage of Render Layers for better compositing control." I haven't viewed the tutorial but my guess is that after all the lessons on animating and visual fx, you'll find info on adding the background/environment in Maya or in a separate compositing software. Let me know if that's not the case.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 03:48 AM   #7
IMG4
Subscriber
 
IMG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the tutorial end quickly and he don't talk about "Creating a basic environment". In the last part of the tutorial he give us a .jpg of a large sky but he don't say anythings about creating a environment.


IMG4. :bandit:
IMG4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 02:56 PM   #8
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

One way I can think of offhand is to surround the entire scene with a sphere or half-sphere (creating a dome), reversing the normals, and mapping the sky texture to it. Another way would be to use the texture as a background in a compositing app and composite the animations on top of it. You could also read up in the manual on using envsky.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 02:51 AM   #9
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Hey Nitro, thanks for the email, sorry folks, been super busy.... surprise, surprise..

Anyhoo, for the animation, I just placed the pic in the bg layer of a comp in my compositor, and just simply moved it to the left as the animation played. Simple.

But, if you want a more realistic environment, check out the file (mini-tut) that I made tonight using the link below.

I placed a horizontal nurbs plane from the left-most viewable side of the camera view in the animation, all the way to the right-most side of the camera animation.

So, of your camera aims to the left, then pans/tilts right for example, make sure the plane extends slightly to the left of the view, a little out of frame, all the way to the right extent of the right pan, again, a little out of frame to the right.

Then use a bend modifier to bend the plane to maintain the psuedo-paralax arc of the camera.

DOWNLOAD my 2 Maya 5 scenes, and a Cinepak-encoded AVI showing the steps in this one RAR file HERE.

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 02:33 PM   #10
IMG4
Subscriber
 
IMG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx for your help

IMG4. :bandit:
__________________
"I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.
IMG4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 05:06 PM   #11
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

No problem, hope it helps!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 10:40 PM   #12
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I used a standard skybox. Create a box, and 6 textures (5 if you already have a ground. I'd recommend using Terragen for the skybox... really powerful... and pennies compared to Maya. Note: Light-link OFF the skybox, and set the textures to your illumination, not color shader attribute.

The results:



I figure -- hey -- if every game I know of uses this method -- its GOTTA work :b
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.