Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-01-2005, 03:21 AM   #1
mayakid14
Registered User
 
mayakid14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face cloth

recently i have been creating a chacacter that requires me to give him a trenchcoat.......well to make a long story short i have made the trenchcoat as u should see in the picture below. but i set up everything to make it act like cloth i gave it cloth properties and all that good stuff. so it should pretty much move like cloth and do what i want it to do right .......WRONG............when i hit play i wait for minutes and minutes ...........THEN 20 minutes later it is still on the same frame it has been on since the BEGGINING...maybe my computer isn't fast enough or something is wrong with the cache.............i know my computer is not the problem because it was working before...........when i sarted off making the cloth it moved fine. i started having the problems when i was making the colar of the trenchcoat..........i made the colar by extruding it from the tranchcoat cloth mesh. maybe i shouldnt have made it this way. would it have been better if i made the colar as a seperate mesh. ......if so, how do i make it a seperate mesh..........actually i know how to make a seperate mesh but how would i attach it to the original cloth mesh.............................................. ...............i am really like confused out of my skin right now.............could some1 give me some tips on how to create cloth..................................
Attached Thumbnails
 
mayakid14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2005, 03:39 AM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Does the cloth move at all? Have you added gravity to your cloth for the simulation? Have you set your frames to start on frame one and end at frame what ever?

Just trying to get some more info....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2005, 07:04 PM   #3
mayakid14
Registered User
 
mayakid14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yep i did all of that. like i said before it was working fine till i extruded the colar from the mesh.....now it like takes forever to simulated.........i tried a poly cleanup..........everything....................... .......i thought it could be some kid of problem like not being able to simulate so many verts.
Attached Thumbnails
 
mayakid14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 06:33 AM   #4
Omy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cloth properties do you mind explaining what you did. Did you make the coat a softbody? Ill leave it at that and i can help you as far as making the coat look descent for animation. Set up point constrants if its a softbody then just move them around to see if it moves. I cant really help much since you havent told much.
__________________
"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources." --Albert Einstein
Omy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 04:28 PM   #5
mayakid14
Registered User
 
mayakid14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im sorry that i didn't tell you much because i get confused sometimes when i am writing about maya. But YES it is a softbody
or atleast i think it is. but when you make an object into cloth doesn't it automatically make it a soft body.

WELL DOESN't seem like any1 can help me on this one so i'll see what i can do about it.........
mayakid14 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.