Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-01-2005, 09:41 PM   #1
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Convert to polly > model dissappears?

2 questions-

I am modeling a poly car. From time to time I convert it to sub-d to see the progress. I have started facing 2 problems-

A- When I convert to sub-d the model dissapears :O
In the scrip editor I see this. It was working fine until this moment-

// File read in 2 seconds.
select -r polyToSubd38|polyToSubd1|polyToSubd1 ;
doSubdivCreate( "2", { "1","1","3000","32"} );
deleteInternalValence2Verts |polyToSubd38|polyToSubd1|polyToSubd1|subdTessShap e3;
polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 3000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polyToSubd38|polyToSubd1|polyToSubd1|subdTessShap e3;
// Warning: Nothing is selected. Select objects or components to delete. //
// Warning: Node 'polyToSubdShape40.instObjGroups[0]': cannot make assignment to 'blinn5SG' shader. //
// Error: Connection not made: 'polyToSubdShape40.instObjGroups[0]' -> 'blinn5SG.dagSetMembers[-1]'. Source node will not allow the connection. //
// Warning: Node 'polyToSubdShape40.instObjGroups[0]': cannot make assignment to 'blinn5SG' shader. //
// Error: Connection not made: 'polyToSubdShape40.instObjGroups[0]' -> 'blinn5SG.dagSetMembers[-1]'. Source node will not allow the connection. //
// Result: polyToSubdShape40 //
delete |polyToSubd38|polyToSubd1|polyToSubd1|subdTessShap e3;
// Error: More than one object matches name //???
Can you explain what I need to do?

B) When I convert the model to sub D I have in the option box "keep original unchecked". So on converting to sub-d I have just the sub-d model left. > BUT if I undo by pressing Z I get back the poly object but with sub-d copy attached to it.
Then there is nothing I can do to delete the sub-d object even if I look for it in the outliner. It's as if they are both attached at the hip. This does not happen always but only sometimes. Any idea?

Thanks
__________________
grrrr

Last edited by slickrenderer : 20-01-2005 at 09:59 PM.
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2005, 07:42 AM   #2
buran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Convert to polly > model dissappears?

Originally posted by slickrenderer
2 questions-

I am modeling a poly car. From time to time I convert it to sub-d to see the progress. I have started facing 2 problems-

A- When I convert to sub-d the model dissapears :O
In the scrip editor I see this. It was working fine until this moment-

// File read in 2 seconds.
select -r polyToSubd38|polyToSubd1|polyToSubd1 ;
doSubdivCreate( "2", { "1","1","3000","32"} );
deleteInternalValence2Verts |polyToSubd38|polyToSubd1|polyToSubd1|subdTessShap e3;
polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 3000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polyToSubd38|polyToSubd1|polyToSubd1|subdTessShap e3;
// Warning: Nothing is selected. Select objects or components to delete. //
// Warning: Node 'polyToSubdShape40.instObjGroups[0]': cannot make assignment to 'blinn5SG' shader. //
// Error: Connection not made: 'polyToSubdShape40.instObjGroups[0]' -> 'blinn5SG.dagSetMembers[-1]'. Source node will not allow the connection. //
// Warning: Node 'polyToSubdShape40.instObjGroups[0]': cannot make assignment to 'blinn5SG' shader. //
// Error: Connection not made: 'polyToSubdShape40.instObjGroups[0]' -> 'blinn5SG.dagSetMembers[-1]'. Source node will not allow the connection. //
// Result: polyToSubdShape40 //
delete |polyToSubd38|polyToSubd1|polyToSubd1|subdTessShap e3;
// Error: More than one object matches name //???
Can you explain what I need to do?

B) When I convert the model to sub D I have in the option box "keep original unchecked". So on converting to sub-d I have just the sub-d model left. > BUT if I undo by pressing Z I get back the poly object but with sub-d copy attached to it.
Then there is nothing I can do to delete the sub-d object even if I look for it in the outliner. It's as if they are both attached at the hip. This does not happen always but only sometimes. Any idea?

Thanks
buran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2005, 06:07 AM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Have you checked your surface normals before you converted?

I hate doing that too, but it is an evil we cannot avoid

Usually works for me, lemme know if it helped
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.