Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-01-2005, 01:45 PM   #1
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default About animation in modern games

Hello all.

I'm learning animation at the moment, and was wandering few things.
First of all, If you have games like doom 3, and you want to export character to hte engine. I have seen that some area on the model (i.e., where legs and arms are bending) have to use "influence objects" and similar techincs to make correct bending/deformation. Now, my question is, how dou you do that for games like Doom 3 Far Cry, maybe even Unreal engine 3, and how in older games?
Also, i.e., when exporting animation with skeleton into a game, what can I export? I mean things like locators, IK handels, deformers,etc?

Also, not to open a ne thread, I have another problem:
I am trying to animate hand. Now, when I try to rotate a finger joint, there is a problem, because the finger is not pointing at the same direction as "rotate tool". I would like to lock lety say "x" and "z" direction so the finger can bend only in "y" direction like it's normal. I know how to do that , but if I do that, the finger won't rotate as it should, because rotate tool is pointing in other direction. I should somehow rotate the moving point, but don't know how? Maybe I should use locators?

Thanks for help!

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 28-01-2005 at 01:47 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 01:51 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I couldn't tell you about the exporting as each engine has it's own rules regarding that.

As for the fingers, with the join selected, in component mode, turn on the "?" selection mask (called Miscellaneous) and you can select the joint's local rotation axis and rotate it however you want.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 02:18 PM   #3
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Tnx, but still not working. I can "local" rotate, but but it still don't rotate the way I can adjust with Global rotate that the rotate toool is pointing in the same direction as finger bu only by moving finger itself. If I could now switch to local rotate it would be ok, but whne I do that, the rotate tool automatically rotate the way it was before.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 02:25 PM   #4
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Here's the pictures that show's the problem. You see the Rotation axis, that is colored in red? well, i need it to be rotated (not the model, but rotate tool) so it points at the same direction as selected joints (green one). So now, when I would select the red rotate axis, it would bend finger down as as it should.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 03:43 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

global rotate cannot be adjusted. Only local.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 03:52 PM   #6
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

hmm....so how could I rotate the "rotate tool" without actually rotating that joint?

--Edited--

I think I found the way. I should rotate every joint so they in the X direction, freeze transf. on that joint and then rotate it back to previous position.

Tnx!

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 28-01-2005 at 04:03 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 04:18 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

As stated before, going into component mode and selecting the ? selection mask will allow you to select and rotate a joint's local rotation axis without rotating the joint itself.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 04:45 PM   #8
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

oook...I know this is stupid question....but tell me then, how do you go into a component mode?

ok, never mind, I've got it now, tnx a lot!

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 28-01-2005 at 04:56 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.