Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-01-2005, 01:51 PM   #1
lobo12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Background Colour in Maya 6 UI

How do I change the general colour scheme in the Maya 6 user interface? Previous versions seem to have had appropriate UI commands, but I cannot find one in the current preferences rollout.
lobo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2005, 02:30 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hit alt b

or ctrl b

one of these should change the colors. I think there is three shades available
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 01:19 AM   #3
lobo12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi roach105

Thanks for your prompt reply. Alt b changes the colour scheme of the view window, which is something I did not know. I was not very clear in my original request - I want to change the general background from grey (behind the menus, toolbox, etc). Can you help?
lobo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 05:56 AM   #4
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

It's under windows-->setting/prefrences-->colors. I've tried different colors, but also seem to revert back to the gray.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 09:36 AM   #5
lobo12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi mhcannon

Those colours you refer to in the preferences rollout do not seem to include the user interface background.

The following is shown in 'Help':

To open the color editor
Choose Window > Settings/Preferences > Colors.
The three tabs control different color uses and work slightly differently:
The General tab lets you change user interface and view panel colors, including the view background color.
The Active and Inactive tabs let you change the colors of selected and unselected objects and components.
To change a color on the General tab
Click the arrow next to a section heading to show the colors inside.
Double-click a color swatch to edit it or drag the slider next to a color to change its brightness.

Note that it says "The General tab lets you change user interface ... colors, ...". I cannot see under preferences how to do that. Can anyone shed some more light on this?
lobo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 12:16 PM   #6
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ooppss! I should start reading better. I thought he meant the viewport. Ahwell...
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 03:09 PM   #7
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

My mistake as well. You're wanting to change the application's "skin." That's is defined by the operating system. In windows it's a change of display schemes. I can't remember what it's called on the Mac.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 06:58 AM   #8
lobo12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys for the help. Yes, it is 'change of display schemes'. I should have known, but was confused by the wording in 'Help'.
lobo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.