Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-07-2005, 04:11 AM   #91
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Getting the Bends

Mirror cutting is a handy features for bending objects along whichever axis you want. A typical use might be to creat something like a picture frame. To use, select an object then select Polyons>Mirror cut>options box. You'll need the option box to select the settings for the tool. For bending purposes you'll want the combine meshes option selected. The manipulator handle for this includes movement and rotation option. You're actually moving or rotating a cutting plane which defines where the mirroring will occur. In the example a below a simple elongated box is mirror cut to create a 90 degree bend. To ensure a perfect bend, 45 degrees was specified in the appropriate channel box field.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 27-07-2005 at 05:58 AM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mhcannon For This Useful Post:
Ambrosiussen (04-02-2014)
Old 27-07-2005, 12:35 PM   #92
Geman
Registered User
 
Geman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Planet Mars
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

Hey,


Tx for all the Tricks and Tips.

I need to create pipes and I use curves to create the pipes and then extrude them. I was wondering if I can use mirror cutting on cylinders too?

Keep up the good work!!!!!
Geman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2005, 05:41 PM   #93
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

mirror cut should work on any polygonal object. You can even apply multiple mirror cuts to a single mesh. Mirror cuts act like deforms in that effects are cumulative. Also to "lock in" the effect you should delete history on the object to remove the mirror cut influence. Below are some sample mirror cuts on various polygonal objects including a torus, a cone, a cylinder, a simple head shape, and an extruded poly profile (sort of a guard rail shape).
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2005, 07:08 PM   #94
Geman
Registered User
 
Geman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Planet Mars
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

mhcannon thx for the quick reply.
I will play around with it.
Geman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2005, 03:56 AM   #95
joed8349
Registered User
 
joed8349's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default F key for framing in Outliner window

In addition to using the ' f ' key to frame a selected object in the viewing window, you can press ' f' while in the Outliner window to to frame the selected object's node. This is very helpful when working with a character that has many joints and parts, or objects that are grouped many times.
joed8349 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2005, 09:12 AM   #96
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

The "a" and "f" short cuts work in most editors as does the alt + mmb and alt + rmb.

a = frame all
f = frame selected
mmb = middle mouse button
rmb = right mouse button
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 07:40 AM   #97
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Modeling in Black and White

If you've used landscape generator such as Bryce or Vue than you'll be familiar with this techinique. These programs use a grayscale image to generate terrain height. You can do a similar thing in Maya by coverting displacement maps into polygons. To do this you will have to assign a grayscale texture to the displacement channel of an objects shading group (NURBS or polys only). Once the displacment map is assigned, simply select Modify>Convert>Displacement to Polygons. This creates a new object that has the displaced geometry. As this is math intensive, it may take a while to compute. In the example shown, the original object was a simple NURBS plain with 16x16 U and V division. The image inset bottom left is the grayscale image that was used.

WARNING
Depending on the resolution and complexity of the grayscale image used, the resulting polygon may be a heavy mesh (see HUD inset).

Beside creating geometry that might otherwise be diffucult to model, the method saves the renderer from having to calculate the displacement and allows accurate interaction with geometry.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 06-08-2005 at 07:44 AM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 07:48 AM   #98
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Modeling in Black and White (cont.)

For those curious, this is the shading group for the terrain displacement in the previous post.

Pretty simple network...
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 06-08-2005 at 07:51 AM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 11:34 AM   #99
Splashor
Registered User
 
Splashor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Adding items to the shelve

I know this is know by the most of you already, but since I haven't seen it in here yet:

You can add items to your shelve by holding ctrl+shift when clicking in a menu.

*Hope this qualifies as a good hint/trick :blush:



Thanks, Mitchell
Splashor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 08:52 AM   #100
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Help for those "Senior" moments

If you've ever had a "senior" moment in which you couldn't remember which menu a tool or option was there is hope for you. Under the help menu there is a "Find Menu" option that allows keyword searches. This will show you all the menus that contain the keyword searched. Of course if you can't remeber where the "Find Menu" is, well....
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 09:19 AM   #101
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default 5th Panel... sort of

This is a work around to the limit of four panels view sets. If you need more than four, you can create tear off panels. In any of the standard viewports, select the camer you want to make into a new panel viewport. Then select Panel>Tear off copy...

Once the new floating panel appears you can safely switch the original viewport to a different camera.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 03:07 PM   #102
akky_pakky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kaeachi
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help!!!!!!!

hey Guys!! how'z ya?? I need your Help guys .. i m new user of Maya ... i was using 3d Max frm 2 yrs ... now i wanna switch on Maya ... Because Maya's charater amimation is too advance than Max... thats why .. now guys .. i need yr help ... who can tell me ... how should i do in start .... gimme some tips n tricks n basic tutorials ...

Thank YOu

Ragards
akky_pakky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 04:25 PM   #103
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Heres a big tip for ya,, Buy the videos on this site
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 09:03 PM   #104
akky_pakky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kaeachi
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

<<Heres a big tip for ya,, Buy the videos on this site>>

Thanx buddy ... Yeah i m using dat videos ...
akky_pakky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 10:16 PM   #105
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Post Poly Extrusions on Curves

Most modelers are used to extruding profile curves along a path curve, but many forget that you can do the same thing with polygonal faces. Try this out, create a curve, select the faces you want to follow that curve then open the Extrude Faces Option Box and make sure "use selected curve for extrusion" is selected. Set any other extrude options then apply.

In the this example a simple torso was created then the base faces of the arm were extruded along a path curve simulating the arm bend and distance. If you have history on, you can even modify the extrusion result by editing the CVs or EPs of the path curve.

P.S. To all, hope you read through this entire thread. Run a search on the forum if you looking for particular topic. If you're having problems with a tut then come back and ask a specific question, but please try to keep this thread related to tips and/or tricks. Oh... and a reminder anyone may post a tip or trick.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 25-08-2005 at 06:41 AM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.