Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-02-2005, 06:29 PM   #1
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Spec for running Maya smoothly

I'm currently in the process of upgrading my computer, what is the ideal specs to run Maya smoothly and quickly? I don't know what I'm currently running so pls just assume I don't have a computer and what spec I'm looking for.

Mike
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 06:36 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

nothing much needed, depends what you will be doing, i recomend minimum requirements as a gig of ram, 2 ghz cpu and a mid range g force card.

Best you coudl get would be a 64 bit cpu (dont know if maya supports this yet). If not that then a P4 3.2 or somthing, 2 gigs of Ram and a nice gforce fx card.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 06:37 PM   #3
stickdude
Registered User
 
stickdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I live inside my computer
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

What you need, urgently is RAM, not a lot of ram but GOOD ram. I have 512MB and running Perfectly smooth, never experienced lag. Get Corsair XMS DDR400, it is a lot more expensive but even 512 would do it with every App and every game. I would also reccomend AMD proccesor, 2500+ or better. Check newegg.com, best prices on the NET and fast shipping too
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge...
--Albert Einstein
stickdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 06:39 PM   #4
stickdude
Registered User
 
stickdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I live inside my computer
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally posted by LauriePriest
nothing much needed, depends what you will be doing, i recomend minimum requirements as a gig of ram, 2 ghz cpu and a mid range g force card.

Best you coudl get would be a 64 bit cpu (dont know if maya supports this yet). If not that then a P4 3.2 or somthing, 2 gigs of Ram and a nice gforce fx card.
if you want 2 gigs, you need 4 slots of ram on your mobo because the 1GB stix of RAM stink because they have HIGH LATENCY...
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge...
--Albert Einstein
stickdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 06:41 PM   #5
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

What's your budget?

basic specs from me:

P4 or AMD chip @ 2Ghz or greater
1GB RAM PC-2100 or greater
VGA cards tend to be personal so get something higher end
Run RAID or go scsi raid


those are my basic specs for ya off tha cuff
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 06:53 PM   #6
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

To be honest, I don't really have a budget as I wont do things by half measures. I've just thrown out my old monitor in favour of a 19" flat screen.

I seen to experience a 'lag' when occassionally between menus and rotating etc
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 08:23 PM   #7
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

RAM for starters then
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 08:30 PM   #8
stickdude
Registered User
 
stickdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I live inside my computer
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Saiyan
What's your budget?

basic specs from me:

P4 or AMD chip @ 2Ghz or greater
1GB RAM PC-2100 or greater
VGA cards tend to be personal so get something higher end
Run RAID or go scsi raid


those are my basic specs for ya off tha cuff
dude, PC2100 is $h!t, you could get 50GB of PC2100 and it will still lag. You don't get this: it is not the memory, it is how fast the stick can write memory. 2100 is 2.1GB/s , 3200 is 3.2 GB/s. If you get 1GB, you will never fill it up anyways. SO get Corsair 512 XMS DDR400
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge...
--Albert Einstein
stickdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 08:45 PM   #9
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have 768MB of PC2100 and I get no lag.....so I don't know what your config is doing....

My question was general....to give an idea only....meaning do not go below this line. Not everyone has the money for the latest greatest....he mentioned half measures....what if his current motherboard doesn't support that ram....now it's a mobo/ram and possible cpu upgrade....just for RAM


So more specs of your current config are needed j5ive
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.