Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-03-2005, 09:15 AM   #1
Registered User
shoshi900's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Black Pixels problem

Ok, here is a good one. I am trying to render out an animation for a live action compoite. I am using MR with Final gather, with and IBL and an HDRI image. But when I render out the shot, I will get random black pixels all over the model. I have tryed the sampling, widening the rate and narowing it, but all that happens is the pixels change size a bit. I also, tryed to adjust the min and max radious and that just seems to move the location of the black pixels around. I am lost, any ideas are welcome. Thank for the help.
shoshi900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 03:25 PM   #2
mhcannon's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

can you post a sample render of the problem?

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2005, 05:03 PM   #3
Registered User
Dann's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

I had this happen once too. In m y ase, it was Maya's area lights that were causeing the problem. Not sure why, but when I got rid of them, everything rendered cleanly.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 05:22 PM   #4
Registered User
Velusion's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

adjust the bias. Whether you're using Raytracing or shadow maps, you can get rid of those random black blocks by slightly adjusting the bias in the render globals.

The black blocks are caused by self shadowing.
James Rogers
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.