Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-03-2005, 05:59 PM   #1
iconcreations03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Help with Hotkeys

ok....This is prob. a stupid question, and that prob. makes me a stupid person.
Anywho.... I am having lots of trouble with the hotkey editor..I create the hotkeys that i want, and they work just fine....as long as maya is open...When i close maya and relaunch, the hotkeys are all set back to default. I checked the pref diolog box for anything relating to resetting or not auto saving the hotkeys...nothing....the prefs were saved, and i traced back the folder to make sure that the file was written...(lib>pref>maya>)
I am using a Mac....if there is a mel command that i am missing or a plugin, or any thing that might help what so ever, i am greatly appreaciated......having to re-create the hotkeys are a real pain in the ars....
o, ps...the shelfs and screen layout are all saved when i re-open maya

thanks a mill.....James
iconcreations03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2005, 04:12 PM   #2
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Found this after some searching....a skill I suggest that people work on a little more

This workaround apparently is from alias and as such Please use this at your own risk!!

I do not own a mac so I won't know if this works



1. Start Maya and create a hotkey.
2. Confirm that the hotkey works.
3. Exit Maya.
4. Confirm that the hotkeys were set by using Textedit to open the
following files:
/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/prefs/userNamedCommands.m
el
/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/prefs/userHotkeys.mel

NOTE: *USERNAME* is your login account name.

5. Start Maya.
6. Open the Script Editor and type in the following 2 mel script commands:
source
"/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/prefs/userNamedCommands.
mel";
source
"/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/prefs/userHotkeys.mel";

NOTE: *USERNAME* is your login account name.

7. Drag these 2 scripts into your "Custom" MEL scripts tab in your shelf.
IMPORTANT: If you don't source the 2 MEL scripts noted in step 6 before
exiting Maya, the "userNamedCommands.mel" amd "userHotkeys.mel" will reset
themselves when you exit Maya.

8. Exit Maya. Check that the hotkeys are still there by looking at the
following 2 files:
/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/prefs/userNamedCommands.m
el
/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/prefs/userHotkeys.mel

NOTE: *USERNAME* is your login account name.

If the files are blank and don't have the hotkeys, you didn't "source" the
MEL scripts properly noted in step 6. Please start from Step 1 again to
recreate your hotkeys.

9. Start Textedit and open the Preferences:
New Document Attributes > Plain Text
Saving > Take the check off for "Append ".txt" extension to plain text
files".

Exit out of Textedit and start Textedit again. There should be no "ruler"
for the text document.

10. Add the following into the text document:
source
"/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/prefs/userNamedCommands.
mel";
source
"/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/prefs/userHotkeys.mel";

Save this file on your desktop and call it: userSetup.mel

11. Move the "userSetup.mel" to:
/Users/USERNAME/Library/Preferences/Alias/maya/6.0/scripts/userSetup.mel
NOTE: *USERNAME* is your login account name.

12. Start Maya and check that the hotkeys are working.
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2005, 01:03 AM   #3
iconcreations03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default God Is Born!

hahahah, well man, (Saiyan, Silent SM Warrior) that worked....I cant thank you enough...I looked through various web pages...including alias. Simply Maya is one phat site, and soo are the members. Thank you again. James
iconcreations03 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.