Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-03-2005, 01:02 PM   #1
junkyBob
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 203
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default creating quads after boolean difference

Hi there all,
After I made a hole for the inside of my cabinet, by using Polygons->booleans->difference, I wanted to start converting the faces to have quad sided faces. Though the problem I am having is that when I use the split polygon tool, and if I start on an edge where their is a hole it says that I cannot start up on a hole. So then I tried starting on an edge that doesn't have a hole, but then it says that it cannot end on a hole. So Is there a way that I can spilt up the face without having to fill the hole back in and then having to delete it after I use the split polygon?
junkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2005, 02:30 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Post a Pick up sounds like you have tomerge some vertices before you start drawing new lines with the split poly tool.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2005, 02:15 PM   #3
junkyBob
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 203
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Kurt
Post a Pick up sounds like you have tomerge some vertices before you start drawing new lines with the split poly tool.
Here's my pic
Attached Thumbnails
 
junkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.