Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-04-2005, 06:57 PM   #1
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default Is it a crutch? Plus questions:)

I generally model in polys' then convert to subd, back and forth untill i get the model where i like. I was told that modeling like that is very limited and people tend to use it as a crutch and i should concentrate more on poly modeling only. Is this true? Or is it a person to person thing. As i feel more confortable modeling in poly then converting.

Now for questions:

I tried to assign a hotkey, one to convert to sub, one to convert back to poly. And i found the convert selected to subd command to hotkey it, but i looked for a long while and could not find the convert selected to poly command. Anyone help with that?

Next, Anyone know if the Yamaha Tutorial will have a texturing tutorial for it later?
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 03:05 AM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

actually thats how i like to model myself.
here is a polysubD switch script to toggle back and fourth.
Attached Files
File Type: mel polysubswitcher.mel (4.2 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 09:40 AM   #3
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I personally think that its wrong for people to comment on what technique you use to model. You should use whichever method that you feel most comfortable with. Maya provides lots of different ways to model, so why should you not use them?? The only exception I suppose would be if a client specifically asks for a poly model, but you could still convert back and forth between poly and sub'd, then simply provide a poly smooth model in the end (unless there's a poly limit).

As for your question, you could always assign your own hotkey to convert selected to Poly.

Bye for now

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 12:33 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

that is very limited and people tend to use it as a crutch
that's absolute crap! who cares how you did the model. if you're doing it for a client and speed is the issue then who cares?! they certainly wont. tell whoever told you this that they are speaking out their ass! the only thing i would say though is that if you want to move on and gain new skills then sticking to what you know could be seen as bad. But again if you're up against it then who cares.


Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 03:10 PM   #5
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by lisa_gonzalez
I personally think that its wrong for people to comment on what technique you use to model.
LisaG
wtf?

Originally posted by
Pure_Morning

tell whoever told you this that they are speaking out their ass!
maybe the person who said that to him found it to be a good way "when speed is the issue and theyre doing it for a client"...

just a matter of preference.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 03:34 PM   #6
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Um, I think you misunderstood me, Vladimirjp. What I meant was who has the right to tell Twisted Dragon that he should concentrate purely on poly modelling, when he clearly feels most comfortable modelling his way, by converting to sub-d's.

wtf?
I hate to be rude, but I really dislike the use of this abbrevation, which has been popping up quite a lot recently. We're all entitled to our opinions.

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 05:41 PM   #7
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Lisa, I wanted to assign the key to new hotkey, however i cant physically find where it is in the hotkey menu.


My work isnt for a client, just personal use and learning. So is the other persons. I was just checking on peoples views of it.

Just thought i would check.. Why spend 4 hours making a model for personal use in poly when you can make it in 2 hours in subd..
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 02:19 AM   #8
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

well I can see the viewpoint of it being like a crutch, I find polys more usefull for multiple resons and just saying in them more eficant.. but a crutch sounds like a bad thing.. I don't like the sound of that.. becouse really it don't matter. sometimes being confritable is far more inportant than pure eficancy. You can stay in polys all ya want but if it bums you out your not going to make as good a product.. so in other words, while what they say could be true from a viewpoint, isn't it more inportant what terns your crank ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 07:18 AM   #9
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

When it comes to graphics production I am a firm believe in "If you're not cheating, you're not trying." By this I mean what ever method allows you to achieve the desired result in the least amount of time. Called it crutch if you want to, as long as it works for you.

I do encourage experimentation, time permiting, as you may discovering techniques that might be useful in different situations. When your under a deadline is not the time to experiment though.

[Edit] Did you try VladimirJP's script? You can assign the script to a custom shelf for easy access.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 05-04-2005 at 09:58 AM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 09:51 AM   #10
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hey twisteddragon.

Under the hotkey editor, at the bottom of the list under categories there is a category called 'user' that you can assign custom commands to your own hotkeys. If you just select the user category, you can enter a name and description for your new hotkey, then input the commands that will run when you press it. The command for convert selected to poly is TesselateSubdivSurface; I think (I tried it out and I think it worked properly). Then just accept the new commands, and assign a new hotkey like normal.

Hope this helps.

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 04:18 PM   #11
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by lisa_gonzalez

I hate to be rude, but I really dislike the use of this
abbrevation, which has been popping up quite a lot recently.


We're all entitled to our opinions.

LisaG
we' re all entitled to our opinions... yet u dislike others opinions when they say wtf....
meh..
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 04:31 PM   #12
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

lets try to keep it on topic please

I think the consensus would be that if you are happy modelling that way then there is no right or wrong way to do it. Use the best tool for the job but there's no harm in learning another way of doing things.



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.