Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-04-2005, 04:42 PM   #1
Graylen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question problem with paint effects not sticking

Hello ,
I made a human head from nurbs and then converted to polygons and subdivisions (A LOT) I finally finished the modeling and wanted to use the paint effects to paint the eyebrows.... but every time I try I get an error message :
// Error: More than one object matches name: polySurfaceShape14 //
the paint effects curve shows up in the outliner but it does not render and I cant see it in perspective mode.
anyone has an idea about this?

thanks
Graylen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 05:22 PM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Did you make the object paintable?
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 05:42 PM   #3
Graylen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep,

its pintable and I can see the stroke while I paint it.. but when I let go of the mouse button it disappears and gives me the error message.
Graylen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 08:05 PM   #4
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I suggest you rename the item you are trying to paint.
According to the message, Its telling you that you have 2 pieces of geometry with the same name. Rename the part in the outliner and try again..
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 08:37 AM   #5
Graylen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried that.. changed the name
but the paint effects still dont stick to the object.
every time i build a model in the convert way I get the same error when dealing with paint effects.
Graylen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 08:55 AM   #6
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Two things you might try... delete history on the object to be painted and run the scene optimization function to delete any unused nodes.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 01:13 PM   #7
Graylen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tried that,
still doesn't work... the paint effects just don't want to stick.
I even created a new sphere and tried applying paint effects to it... and that works. its just the model I converted that's giving me the problem
Graylen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 05:11 PM   #8
Graylen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it was a problem in the UV mapping. thank god that solved it.. I was close to losing my mind.
Graylen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 06:40 PM   #9
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

For our benefit, can you clarify what the UV problem was?
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 08:33 PM   #10
Graylen
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Don't have a clue
I asked my teacher and he said that it might be a problem with the UV mapping but he didn't want to get in to it since we still haven't got to that. he just told me to do the automatic mapping and it solved the problem.
hopefully he will explain more when we get to the uv mapping class.
Graylen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.