Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-05-2005, 04:50 PM   #1
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default import maya to zbrush

someone know how to import a model form maya to zbrush.
i tryed this:
-i select the object
-windows-setting/preference
-click on the last button(i dont knoe its name)
-clik on objexport(stg like that)
-file-export selection(click on the small folder)
-obj export(in the samll case)
-open zbrush
-tool-import
-choose what a want to imprt
and after that it should work but it doesnt. it write that there is error

what sould i do:headbang:
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2005, 07:03 PM   #2
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have imported Obj files into Zbrush from Maya with no problems before ?

Have you tried converting a different object to Obj and tried to import that instead to see if its a problem with the scene you are trying to get into Zbrush ?
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2005, 10:51 PM   #3
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: import maya to zbrush

Originally posted by mc-fleury
someone know how to import a model form maya to zbrush.
i tryed this:
-i select the object
-windows-setting/preference
-click on the last button(i dont knoe its name)
-clik on objexport(stg like that)
-file-export selection(click on the small folder)
-obj export(in the samll case)
-open zbrush
-tool-import
-choose what a want to imprt
and after that it should work but it doesnt. it write that there is error

what sould i do:headbang:
what error
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2005, 11:23 PM   #4
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

maybe but i dont want to read it and i dont know where i can find it.whne you wrote it maybe could have been able to say what is my error.idont like people like you .

if you wanted to frustred me, you sucessed.all peopl answer me before and they are all nice.i saw a message you wrote to someone trying to show his model and you said him that it was very bad(stg like that).

p.s. i dont want to be banned because i said that.i just said what i think of him and thats it.
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2005, 11:40 PM   #5
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mc-fleury
maybe but i dont want to read it and i dont know where i can find it.whne you wrote it maybe could have been able to say what is my error.idont like people like you .

if you wanted to frustred me, you sucessed.all peopl answer me before and they are all nice.i saw a message you wrote to someone trying to show his model and you said him that it was very bad(stg like that).

p.s. i dont want to be banned because i said that.i just said what i think of him and thats it.
what?
what r u talking about?

what error are you getting, if yiu tell ppl the error message then they can determine how to help you.

relax guy

ur import steps looks fine to me, i dont see why they would not work, thats how i import to ZB,
maybe when u are exporting your obj you choose wrong options [which i doubt]
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 12:51 AM   #6
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

scuse me man i was very frustred becuse of stg that hapened to me but dont care about what a said to you

next time i will try to be less stupid lol


scuse my bad english
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 05:20 PM   #7
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

So..... as Vlad said........ what error does it say when you try and import it
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 06:10 PM   #8
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i dont think so.ithink he tryd to say me that i had to check the `tutorial`` before posting a question.

but... i dont know how.it alwas say me an error
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 07:01 PM   #9
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Bud you said
and after that it should work but it doesnt. it write that there is error
What did it say the error was ?
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 07:43 PM   #10
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

he didnt say me what the error was.he only said that .
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 08:11 PM   #11
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ok can you type out exactly what is printed on the screen when you try and import the file. Im sorry if im not making myself clear to you, I am trying to help
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 09:20 PM   #12
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its ok... i didnt try since but it says stg like there is an error while importing
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2005, 07:55 AM   #13
uberstonks
Subscriber
 
uberstonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK- Wirral - near Liverpool
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

OK, Then lets try somethinsg else,
try searching the net for a free model in obj format and see if you can import that.
If you cant import it, then the problem is with Zbrush. If you can import it, then the problem is with how you are exporting from Maya.
Let me know how you get on
uberstonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2005, 08:05 PM   #14
Mayaperson
Registered User
 
Mayaperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default downloading models

I download a model from this site and then it opens up maya when it's done but nothing is there. What's going on?
__________________
Ryan
Mayaperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2005, 12:13 AM   #15
Mayaperson
Registered User
 
Mayaperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Please email me at rrduncan@sbcglobal.net.
__________________
Ryan
Mayaperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.