Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-10-2002, 11:20 AM   #1
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Instant Rigging - The Setup Machine

Hi everyone

I thought I'd just drop you all this link since I think is is so exciting! As some people here probbly already know I use Animation Master and one of the studios that provided learning aids is Anzovin Studio. They have a product called the The Setup Machine, you simply bone your character, run it through the Machine and it rigged is for you. You could then just start animating the thing.

It seems to have been a tremdous success and I will be getting it for use with AM. The bit that is so exciting is that there is now a Maya version too!

Yup! I knew that would get your antention! Seems you create your model, use the skeleton they provide and then run it through the machine and start animating. It is a bit pricey though at $299 - about £200 - but think of the time you would save...

Next month they will be making a Machine that you just plug into the side of your head, connect your TV to your ear and all the animations in your head will be instantly created - I wish...

Here's the link: http://www.anzovin.com/setupmachinemaya.html

Happy Animating!:banana:
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2002, 12:57 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Umm...Didn't dig in to that so deeply but I feel a bit sceptical about these "let-the-computer-do-the-work-for-you-automagically" things...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 09:19 AM   #3
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kbrown

I know what you mean, but I tell you on good experience that this will not let the computer do the work for you it WILL help you animate much quicker and give you an awful lot of control over your characters. You still have to animate the character which takes time, skill and patience.

I am a firm beliver in learning how a rig works - not to the nth degree - but an understanding of it at least. To waste hours in my limited spare time using trial and error to rigg a character when someone who I consider an expert has done all the work for me then I'll take that option. Especially since the studio who produce it are specialist character animators in the first place and whom I have bought stuff off before.

It will not answer all your rigging problems no doubt, but you can always build on it and adapt it to suit your needs as you get more exerienced! I have the Learning Maya Character Rigging book that shows you how to rigg a character in Maya - all you need to know how to rigg a character for animation im Maya, well if the TSM can do it for you then it s the same thing aint it?

Anyway, tis bit expensive but it will not be available until 1st November and they are providing a fully rigged character free for you to try out - the proof will be in the eating...
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 09:43 AM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hehe ok! I think I'm just having some traumas after using Character Studio for 3dsmax
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 10:09 AM   #5
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Character Studio - hmmmm.

I did start to learn 3dMax but didn't get any further than the QuickStart Guide... I aways wondered about character studio.

You see nearly all the games jobs in this country asking for Studio Max and Character Studio experience. Yet when I visited the A/W stand at the DAW they said that they sell more Maya to Games Studios than Film companies???

What is Max and Character Studio like compared to Maya I am keen to know! Does anyone out there know how much Maya really is used in the video games market, that would be interesting too!

:bgreen:
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 10:29 AM   #6
Lespaul84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i used to do some 3ds max but i much prefer maya. it sounds a bit like character studio, i agree. i dont really like the "computer doing itself stuff" so i think i'll just stick to rigging the characters myself, i think you have more control that way and you get exactly what you want.
Lespaul84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 10:35 AM   #7
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Well, one of the main reasons I quit using Max and CS was that they both started to be buggy as hell. I just got fed up with it. The idea and features of CS is good. The UI of Max is easy and very usable. But hell, update after update the amount of bugs increased exponentially as the features were added. New bugs appeared before the old ones were fixed...just my $0.02.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 11:18 AM   #8
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

BUGS in 3D Max! Well I never... So you pay over £3,000 for a program that has lots of bugs. I payed £200 for Animation Master that has bugs but I bet is a better character animation tool than 3Dmax.

I must admit that Maya has hardly crashed on me having W2K probably helps. I am amazed at what you say about Max though I think that has put me right off it. Where you running it under W98?

Looks like I am gonna stick with AM for some things and gently migrate to Maya.
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 11:58 AM   #9
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I saw max versions from 1.0 to 4.29. I can't tell which version I ran in which os but 3.1 to 4.29 was under w2k though. Version 2.5 was the last one considered as a stable one. I've heard the same from many other mouths too. After Discreet took over Max (from Kinetix) things started to get both better and worse (like i described above). After I forced myself to learn Maya, I've never looked back. It's heaven Thanks goes to A|W for the price cut.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 12:03 PM   #10
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Appendix:

I do not know the current situation of Max5. Maybe it's better but I really don't care anymore
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 10:28 PM   #11
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

theres another product for maya that does this called advanced skeleton (www.animationstudios.com.au) not tried it yet - have the demo somewhere and will get around to testing it soon
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2002, 09:03 AM   #12
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kal

Yup! If you look at the page about the TSM for Maya at Anzovin Studios (http://www.anzovin.com/setupmachinemaya.html) it compares Advanced Skeleton with TSM. Looks to me like TSM beats Adv Skeleton hands down, but it would be interesting to compare them.

Tell you what you review Advanced Skeleton, and I'll review TSM when its out that will make interesting reading for the Simply Maya members! Will also enable me to let others know that TSM does not make the computer do the work for you and give you no control - good animation comes from the animator the rig just helps!
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.