Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Lounges > Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-06-2005, 04:31 PM   #1
Spoudazo
Subscriber
 
Spoudazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Trying to make a "table leg" from CV Curve tool, just get a flag blob. . .

I found a few tutorials online (by Googling of course ) and came across one to make a table leg. I did fine all the way through, but at the end when it's supposed to turn the CV curve into a pomplete 360 polygonal object, it just turns into a glob of mess. I'll post the pictures I took (by using the "PrtScn" button of course, for those who may have forgotten how to do so),
Attached Thumbnails
 
Spoudazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005, 04:32 PM   #2
Spoudazo
Subscriber
 
Spoudazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

. . .then it turns into this blob. The guy doing the tutorial I think was using an older edition of Maya because he had a "Surface" button at the top of the screen.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Spoudazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005, 06:48 PM   #3
brut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Revolve is set to the Y axis, and you've created your curve in the 'top' view insead of 'front'. Change to the Modeling toolset. Go to Surfaces-->Revolve, but click the tool options box. Then change the axis to Z. That should do it.
brut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005, 08:23 PM   #4
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Just to let you know, the modeling toolset is at the top. If you see where there is a white box that says animation, click on it, then go to modeling. And listen to brut, if you do what he says, everything should work fine.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005, 09:02 PM   #5
Spoudazo
Subscriber
 
Spoudazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thankyou so, so, so much Brut and alienscience.
:nod:
Spoudazo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.