Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-06-2005, 05:53 PM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default refraction

I'm trying to create a bullett time effect with water, and for the most part I've got everything working the way I want. However, I'm trying to add some refraction to my water, but whenever I turn it on in the shader, my whole object goes opaque. Is there a trick to getting refraction to work? I'm sure it's something simple, but I can't find it. Yes, I have raytracing turned on in the render globals.

Thanks.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2005, 07:17 PM   #2
Lookey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Make sure refractions are turn on in the render globals under "refraction" tab.

Also, make sure the values for refraction and refraction are relatively high (e.i. 10). Basically, these values specify how many surfaces a ray can pass. If some parts of your model still look black/opaque try increasing these values.
Lookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2005, 07:31 PM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Make sure refractions are turn on in the render globals under "refraction" tab.

Where is that? I don't have a refraction tab in my render globals. All I have is a Raytracing tab with a refractions slider and that's turned on. I tried setting both the render globals and shader refraction settings to 10, 20, 40, and even 100 but it's still opaque.

Last edited by Dann : 29-06-2005 at 07:35 PM.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2005, 07:39 PM   #4
Lookey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oops, sorry, I meant the "raytracing tab."

Are you using a regular maya shader with transparency and raytracing on?

Could you post an image of the problem and describe the shader (or post an image of the attribute editor)?
Lookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2005, 07:56 PM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yes, it's a Maya Shader.

Yes, transparency is on.

Yes, raytracing is on.

I've tried Maya software and Mental Ray.

Has anyone ever gotten refraction to work in Maya 6? In fact, I issiue a challenge for anyone to show me a working Maya file with refraction because I don't believe it works.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2005, 12:17 AM   #6
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hmm, I guess refraction in Maya is a myth.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.