Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-10-2002, 12:45 PM   #1
cracker
Subscriber
 
cracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default duplicating a wing

Is there anyway I can dupe the wing and turn it round so it will fit underneath??

The only way I can think of is to turn the engines around separately, is there an easyier way?
cracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:09 PM   #2
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hehe
---Duplicating objects and groups around a pivot point, via x,y or z axis--- (Ctrl-D)

Either move the objects pivot-point manually or press Ctrl-G to group an object or a set of objects, thus making maya set pivot-point to "worldspace-center" automaticly


1) Every object and group has a pivot point; press the "insert" button on the keyboard and move it if you need to.

Move it around in orthogonical view or klick and drag one of the axis-arrows/lines (no arrowhead!!!) indicating the pivot point.

Press "insert" again to transform the "headless-arrows" to return to the "move-object-itself-mode".

then...

2) Open the duplicate menu:
-reset the menu (is much faster than setting everything to 0 manually)
-In your case you would want to duplicate along the up-down axis (probably z axis)
-Type -1 in the move row, relevant to the z-axis.
-Press duplicate to mirror-copy the object or group.

And voila.

Be sure to reset the duplicate-menu so it will funcion as a usual copy/duplicate command (Ctrl-D) later on.

If you are smart, then try to use the world-center to act as a center of the project you are working on.

This might not be such a big a deal with the x-wing, but I found it totally neccessary with my Millennium-Falcon project.
It is much easier to mirror things if you have a very "symmetrical" project.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!

Last edited by undseth : 22-10-2002 at 02:33 PM.
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:17 PM   #3
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Excellent reply undseth! Cleared some issues for me also ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:18 PM   #4
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, you would want to group the wing, engine and the laser cannon first anyway.

Then duplicate...

And then move the group up or down to whatever position is fitting.

---

If you have grouped a set of objects, this group is selected this way;

1) Klick on one of the objets you know are in the group.
2) Press the up-arrow on the keyboard to select the (first) group setting.

If that group is a part of a bigger group, press up-arrow again to select the bigger group.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:20 PM   #5
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Happy to help you out!

There are things here and there that one didnt know of. I experience this bepuzzlement every now and then.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:23 PM   #6
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh I have a tip here, that might have gone unheard of.

If you say, want to make a shelf-button of the "grid-on/off" function. Do this:

Hold down the Shift + Ctrl key, and klick any function from the menus. Thus making a button in the shelf, presently visible.

One can fiddle and make your own icon also, if you dont like the default icons.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:44 PM   #7
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Right on the spot again! although I already knew this little midget of info, I find it great that you want to share your knowledge with us.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:48 PM   #8
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I dare present yet another tip haha

Instead of working with a bunch of objects cluttering up your view either in shaded-mode or in wireframe, try this: (inverted hiding)

Select the object/objects you want to work with...
and press Alt + H to hide everything BUT the ones selected... then SHOW LAST HIDDEN (handy button) to make everything appear again.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:52 PM   #9
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, antoher possibly handy tip; (lazy movement)

If you want to move something axial, but dont want to bother to klick the axial-arrows when moving.

First press w for movement...

Hold Shift + klick and hold the move-button on your mouse, AND move the mouse roughly along one of the axis.

The object will then move sturdy in x,y or z direction.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:52 PM   #10
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by undseth
I dare present yet another tip haha

Instead of working with a bunch of objects cluttering up your view either in shaded-mode or in wireframe, try this: (inverted hiding)

Select the object/objects you want to work with...
and press Alt + H to hide everything BUT the ones selected... then SHOW LAST HIDDEN (handy button) to make everything appear again.
Lol! I suppose you had to use that tip a lot when modelling that falcon of yours huh? hehe

I can imagine: "..argghh! I picked the wrong rivet! .. where are you?!, come on! pick it! darn! pick it! ..." <undseth takes a gun and shoots the screen>
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:54 PM   #11
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes your actually right adldesigner!

Took a while before i had the genius idea of implementing this particular tip.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:57 PM   #12
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yet another tip for positioning lights.
(I have never tried this, but I'll do it soon)

Create a light...
Pick the light...
Klick look through selected and then you have a better view of your positioning of your lights.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 01:58 PM   #13
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hmm, now that I think of it, I´m going to compile all these little tips in a new thread, with images explaining each and every one of them. I´ll give you the credit undseth. I just find them to be quite handy tips so might as well make them a bit more available right?
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 02:03 PM   #14
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thats a great idea adldesigner.
Too bad if these get lost... with time... like tears in the rain... BLADERUNNER
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2002, 02:11 PM   #15
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I remembered something just now, that I find most useful;

When working with nurbs surfaces, in tweaking times;
1) Assign the surface to a layer and ghost it
2) Then you can fiddle with all the curves/cv's without accidentally picking the nurbs-surface itself when tweaking it. And you get to see the results immdiatly, when watching the ghosted surface adjust itself to the repositioned cv's/curves.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.