Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-07-2005, 12:54 PM   #1
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default When does the world get too...BIG??

I am having an interesting problem. I am trying to create a background (a canyon) for my little airplanes to fly through. I am creating the canyon using a series of poly cylinders and connecting them all using booleans (easy enough). I am finding, however, that I cannot see the entire object. When I truck/dolly out in "Perspective", the object begins to disappear as if retreating into some sort of fog. I am creating all of this more or less within the confines of a grid.

I tried changing the units on the grid to "yards", but I think that's more a function of making a model than creating a world.

My question is exactly what can I do about this "fadeaway" issue, and is there a limit to the size of a "world" for any given scene. I would think that a "world" should, in theory, be able to be created in any size...

I will see if I can change the actual size of the grid. If so, perhaps that is the answer, but I'm not sure, hence my asking all of you! :-)

I browsed the general/newbie forum and though I found much interesting material I didn't see (or perhaps missed) anything which might pertain to my particular issue...

Any and all answers appreciated, and thanks again in advance!

Carry on...
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2005, 01:47 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

select your camera and go to the attribute editor (ctrl A). There you'll find near and far clipping settings that you can increase as you need.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2005, 09:16 PM   #3
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thank you yet again, Mike!

BTW I took the liberty of visiting your website...VERY nice!

Carry on...
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2005, 09:46 PM   #4
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can also set the default near and far clip values in the Cameras section of the Preferences panel, so you don't have to mess with the scene cameras too often.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2005, 04:06 PM   #5
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks, will do!

Carry on...
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.