Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-10-2002, 09:21 PM   #1
Rodi
Subscriber
 
Rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Speed it up

Hi guys,

I was thinking about my computer and maya in terms of speed.

I have a p4 1.8ghz with 512 mb. It is not the best but works for now. So here is my question.

How can I speed the maya up without spending money with hardware? Is there any configuration in my OS that can helps? Does the Antivirus slow it down?

I use Xp Pro.

Sorry for this kind of question.

:argue:
__________________
Rodrigo Soares
www.r3dimensional.com
Rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2002, 09:24 PM   #2
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

never use an anti virus! they screw your pc up, I have never used one....i would rather catch the virus and re-format!

so much quicker it runs without it... just be carefull what you open! but scrap the antivirus
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2002, 09:35 PM   #3
Rodi
Subscriber
 
Rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tknx kevin,

is there any other thing that I can do to speed it up, like virtual memory and so on?
__________________
Rodrigo Soares
www.r3dimensional.com
Rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2002, 10:14 PM   #4
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

That's not the best advice Kevin I have no problems with my anti virus, Nortons. It's your right not to use it but the problem comes if you have a virus and you're not aware of it and pass it on to others.

Anyhow, the question, i doubt there's very much you can do with XP to make Maya run any quicker. It's really mostly hardware related. You can make XP a little quicker, more responsive but the improvement in Maya would be minimal. You can have your swap file on it's own dedicated hard drive, it may help a little. It does with photoshop and is actually recommended i think by Adobe. In XP i use the classic interface as well as opposed to XP's overloaded one.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2002, 06:03 PM   #5
smood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1) change your system to 2000 pro its the starngest and the best from microsoft.
2) the anti viros isnt slowes nothing but in XP its alwes more slow then 2000-pro, me. 98 . 95 and so on beckos she using your grafic card more then thos so beckos that XP is socks.
3) yes its alwes good to set up an virtrol membory but not to mach beg beckos then the program isn't use the membory in the best why.
4) in 100$ you can upgrate your computer in alout over-clocking thats thae word you buy an colt seysitem put her on your pc/ atalon (i dont now this is with mac) and on your garfic card and then do over-cloking you can found how to do it over the net but if you are afriad then call to an pro-man that well do it for you (i on my own macke my pc from 1.6MG to 2.8MG and speed up my grafic card in abut 300% from his start) but its also stop your nasorsty at inter or what ever is your compny
smood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2002, 07:17 PM   #6
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by mrmacca
That's not the best advice Kevin I have no problems with my anti virus, Nortons. It's your right not to use it but the problem comes if you have a virus and you're not aware of it and pass it on to others.

Anyhow, the question, i doubt there's very much you can do with XP to make Maya run any quicker. It's really mostly hardware related. You can make XP a little quicker, more responsive but the improvement in Maya would be minimal. You can have your swap file on it's own dedicated hard drive, it may help a little. It does with photoshop and is actually recommended i think by Adobe. In XP i use the classic interface as well as opposed to XP's overloaded one.
its a fact... anti virus software slows down your pc. It makes it run like a heap of junk, Just be-carefull what you execute in your mail and you will be fine.

Just back your pc up reguarly.... if you get one (which you probably wont) just reinstall...takes 1 hr for a reinstall! rather then go through everyday with an antivirus churning away.. and anyway the viruses that are out now norton wont see anyway as they are 3 months behind everything!

Just ask dave...he has beed dealing with this sort of thing for years...

honestly mate..get yourself an antivirus kit on your sytem and watch it run like crap
  Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2002, 07:49 PM   #7
keops
Registered User
 
keops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm agree with kevin..
but without any hardware improvement, keyword in improving speed is defrag!
__________________
-KeOpS-
keops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2002, 10:07 PM   #8
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I've been running antivirus forever now and i just don't see any slow down but Nortons has stopped viruses for me a couple of times. Maybe if i was running an older machine, pentium 3 500 mhz or something it might be an issue. Running a dual machine, as you know yourself, i've never experienced any slow downs. I just like having the protection. Nortons aslo seem to update their definitions pretty quick. Normally when a new virus is released they have a download ready within 24 hours. If it was such a big issue with slowdowns i wouldn't use it.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2002, 11:37 PM   #9
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I will say this and it's all you ever need......


OVERCLOCK

it's the best to improve speed without spending money......optimizing applications is good to do anyway.....regardless if you need the speed or not
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 02:17 AM   #10
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

but keep in mind that it voids your warranty and if you don't know what you're doing, it can be easy to damage your stuff.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2002, 07:09 PM   #11
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

ya go with 2000 if you have problems with XP... 2000 utilizes the ram more efficiently since you have 512 megs.. this would'nt be a prlblem.. as kevin said DUMP THE ANTIVIRUS.. they are memory hogs and drags the system... they make it so sloooooooooow!!!!
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2002, 07:11 PM   #12
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

and..... which memory do you use... SD,DD,RD???
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 12:20 AM   #13
Rodi
Subscriber
 
Rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

SD
__________________
Rodrigo Soares
www.r3dimensional.com
Rodi is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.