Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-08-2005, 04:27 PM   #1
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Multiple edge delete?

Hi again. Got another issue. I have just tried converting my poly fuselage on my plane to sub-ds, and I'm getting an error that I cannot convert due to multiple duplicate edges.

I have a bunch according to the highlights when using the Merge Edge Tool, but using it causes adjacent edges to attach to where the tool was clicked. I've tried all 3 settings in the Merge Tool but they each give undesirable results.

Is there a way to get rid of the multiple edges without hurting the integrity of the mesh?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didn’t have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2005, 04:34 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Hmm, try Edit Polygons > Delete Edge.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2005, 04:41 PM   #3
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Tried that, but all of them said "Cannot delete border edges".

I just fixed it. Looked in the Script Editor and it told me to run this command on all the polys:

select .e[949] ;string $v[] = `polyListComponentConversion -fe -tv`;select $v;polySplitVertex;polyMergeVertex -d 0.0 -tx 1;

Hope this helps someone. Mesh converts to Subs no prob now.

Steve
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didn’t have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
New Feature: Multiple Image Upload David Members Lounge 0 30-11-2010 09:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.