Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-08-2005, 05:34 PM   #1
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Merging Vertexes

Used to live with this issue being that I kind-of used to live with it:

My method for creating 3d models always consisted of getting the shapes using primitives then deleting faces off and manually CreatePolying the either more optimized or better shaped polygons using vertex and edge snapping. This seems to create two problems: extra vertexes and unwillingness to smooth.

The 2nd I'm not as concerned about being that I can work around it and most cases the createpolygons are on planar surfaces anyway. (though if someone knows how to help that would be nice)

The major problem for me is how to physically attach the verticies together into a single mesh. Firstly -- in various points of my model that means 3-5x the vertexes necessary which from what I know about UnrealEngine and graphics cards its not polycount so much as vertex count which causes framerate issues; secondly, when trying to move vertexes around that means I need to do my edit, then snap all the rest of the vertexes (which should all be connected) to that single vertex.

So -- is there a way to make several faces share the same vertex so that Maya considers it as just one single vertex? (I'm pretty sure there is being as the primitives Maya creates generally share vertexes)
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2005, 05:39 PM   #2
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry for doublepost -- I got it to work... for some reason "Merge Vertexes" never actually worked for me... and only after I posted the question did it. (I guess it was the tool I needed)

(seriously, I've been trying that tool for the last 3 months never having it merge the vertexes)
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.