Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-08-2005, 12:23 PM   #1
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Un-smooth polys?

Dumb question but lets say you had a poly mesh that you had been converting back and forth between sub-ds and polys, finally got it looking good in sub-ds so you convert back to polys and smooth.

Now lets assume that you now wanted to go back to the original poly mesh (unsmoothed) to do some more work, and you didn't have the original poly to go back to.

Is there a way to take an already smoothed poly mesh and revert it back to the original form or "un-smoothing it"?
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didn’t have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2005, 12:24 PM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

ya can't do it
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2005, 02:59 PM   #3
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Remember the undo, but it may be 2 late for that.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2005, 02:59 PM   #4
portermalone
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you haven't deleted the history on the object you can go into the "polysmooth" node in your channel box and change the divisions from 1 (or what ever number you have) back to 0. That will give you your original base mesh. But if you have deleted your history i'm afraid your out of luck.
portermalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2005, 03:41 PM   #5
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well luckily I saved a copy of the whole model in original poly state and was able to recover it.

Thanks guys.
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didn’t have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 01:01 AM   #6
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Uh, polySoftEdge -a 0 should work in the melscript commandline.

If not Edit Polygons -> Normals -> Assign to Face (Set to Face maybe? Working off memory)
then try polySoftEdge -a 0 again.

Yes, its case sensitive.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 02:52 PM   #7
whisky28
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanked me to learn the new knowledge again
whisky28 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.