Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-09-2005, 08:54 PM   #1
alexfinbow
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Custom Built 3d PC's

I am looking into getting a PC especially designed for my 3D and Photoshop etc. Are there any custom built PC companies that specialise in this field? I obviously don't want a Gaming PC, I need one with processing power, not graphical speed.

Cheers!
alexfinbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2005, 09:06 PM   #2
sspikedudley
Subscriber
 
sspikedudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

build your own, in the long run its cheaper and you get exactly what you want, its not hat hard either I gave my PC a complete overhaul a couple of months back new motherboard, processor graphics card, power supply and of course a neon light
sspikedudley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2005, 09:32 PM   #3
alexfinbow
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yea I can build PC's, but only high performance gaming ones, I won't obviously buy them from the sites, I aint stupid.

I just need to look at their hardware configs and what they think goes well into a 3d PC
alexfinbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2005, 09:50 PM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

boxx technologies specializes in custom buil 3d machines
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2005, 10:05 PM   #5
darijo203
Registered User
 
darijo203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Croatia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by vladimirjp
boxx technologies specializes in custom buil 3d machines
Yep, dream of every CG artist but also comes with huge prices!

For photoshop you dont need that strong comp, for 3D only when it comes to rendering and ultra hi poly scenes wich (I gess) none of us doesnt produce.

Go costum made,3 or more Ghz-->64bit,4GB Ram,carfuly choose video card....
__________________
ICQ:215-024-460
darijo203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2005, 10:42 PM   #6
RupertFaraway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

newegg.com

High processor speed (Around 3ghz +) and make sure it's 64bit.
Maybe this? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103527

But if you're going for something a little less pricey, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103547


Atleast 256mb graphics card.
A few good looking cards I've just found:
If you are really goddamn rich: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133141
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130237 (a lot of people ranting about it being great for gaming but I've heard it's not bad as a rendering and 3d card.

3 Gigs RAM or more.

Not much else matters too much besides a nice enought motherboard to handle all of your equipment

NOTE: You should probably look through all of the newegg stuff anyway.

Actually, post your price range cuz a computer with some of the stuff I was just looking at would end up as like $3000+
RupertFaraway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2005, 08:49 PM   #7
Zelnaga
Registered User
 
Zelnaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

XWORKS Interactive www.xworksinteractive.com

They specialise in tailor-made systems. Apparently its the company that makes PC for the top European Games-Makers. Of course it costs a bomb : | But if you want 3D pc, you cant get any better than this.
Zelnaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 06:21 PM   #8
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Most of those places overcharge where it would be cheaper to source everything and build it yourself. Not to mention, they gear it towards ONE thing as opposed to having something that's well-rounded. I built mine a few years ago and it handles my pro audio work, graphic work, and maya without a hitch. The only thing really will bog it down are ridiculous calculation things like big Fluid projects or heavy video rendering. Im still using an msi ti4200 which I've soft-quadro'd (basically patched the drivers turning into a quadro 700XGL card). My .02...ymmv.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 08:17 AM   #9
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...ight=Rivatuner

Basically -- a gaming machine is a good 3d Modelling machine. Lots of RAM, lots of HD-space, fast processor, and a decent-enough videocard (note: 7800-series cannot NVStrap to Quadros as of yet... at least not the cards released on the 7X00-line thusfar)

Obviously -- the only real thing you're dependant on is how many polygons you wish to display, how often you want to go without clearing history, and how long you wish to render.

If you can wait a few extra minutes... then save the bucks.

(If you wish to give us your city we might be able to scan for local computer resellers for you -- ones which look legit. If you're nervous about it -- I live in Kingston, Ontario, Canada... ... yes the town with the big arse Supermax prison... no I do not go there :p (Though I did walk through the nearby University campus.)

Last edited by Phopojijo : 06-10-2005 at 08:20 AM.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 05:14 PM   #10
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how to u get 8gig of ram like in the link above wen all mother boards an procees can only tacke about 3 slots and the max for each slot is 1gb as this is the highest u can buy. could some1 plz tell me how

thanks
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 04:31 PM   #11
Tubby
 
Posts: n/a
Default

To answer Pbman`s question, The motherboard in question is a Intel® D955XBK Mainboard which has 4 memory slots that runs DDR2 memory.

With DDR2 memory you can have a 2GB ram stick, they are a bit rare at the moment, but you can get em !



2GB DDR2 ram stick

Now to put it back in my puter

Available here
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by Tubby : 07-10-2005 at 04:37 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 04:42 PM   #12
Tubby
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Now if I could get the memory to work with this I`d be set !

Ummm NICE !!!!
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 08:37 PM   #13
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Phopojijo
http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...ight=Rivatuner(note: 7800-series cannot NVStrap to Quadros as of yet... at least not the cards released on the 7X00-line thusfar)
What does that mean?

Also, i thought that 3D, graphics and design work in general requires a decent graphics card.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where can i post info about 3D job openings? atadami Members Lounge 3 03-12-2010 10:51 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.