Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-10-2005, 07:04 AM   #1
nowonder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how to move a point in animation graph editor

hi,
could somebody plez tell me how to move a point in animation graph editor? dragging the handles doesn't work... why?

btw, my mouse got 2 buttons only.


Animation curves have a few control structures for curve editing. You can do any of these operations:
Use the Move tool and middle mouse button to move a key point. You can alternatively use your keyboard to enter precise values for a selected key's frame and value in the boxes above the graph area.
Use the Move tool and middle mouse button to drag the tangent handles and change the adjacent curvature.

(You can shift-drag with the Move tool to constrain a move operation to a single direction.)
and does this mean, i could only set it using the stats box "only"?, somebody plez confirm.
if "yes", then it is "bad".

or somebody know a utilities to convert a particular "key" on keyboard to be treated as "middle mouse button"?
Attached Thumbnails
 
nowonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2005, 07:26 AM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Get a 3-button mouse. You will find that many things in Maya require one.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2005, 11:37 AM   #3
nowonder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah ha,
coz i am using a mouse with "scroller" attached in the middle, and i thought, wtf, i got no middle button . lol

i thought of writing my middle mouse emulator, so i wrote a sample mouse testing app, which i plan to write a hook program to test on the middle mouse (without reloading the maya)

so the test app completed, and lol, then only to discover than, if i click on the "scroller", the WM_MBUTTONDOWN event would be generated ... lol, so, for those who use mouse with scroller, ur scroller r actually middle button and u can click on it to move the point in animation graph editor.

well, of course, a little bit clumsy to click on the scroller,
:attn:

build using fasm (flat assembler) + application + source attached.

well, maybe later i would continue to work on it to make my left button act like middle button (let say) when scroll lock key was "on".

well, if got more request from ur guys to have something like this .. maybe i feel more motivated lol :attn:
Attached Files
File Type: zip mousetest.zip (2.3 KB, 11 views)
nowonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2005, 07:59 PM   #4
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by nowonder
so the test app completed, and lol, then only to discover than, if i click on the "scroller", the WM_MBUTTONDOWN event would be generated ... lol, so, for those who use mouse with scroller, ur scroller r actually middle button and u can click on it to move the point in animation graph editor.
Dosn't everyone know that?

I never buy 3 button mice, the scroll wheel is just too useful.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2005, 09:07 PM   #5
nowonder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

when they said middle button, u see "button", who thought about scroller is consider a button, well, although it is in middle
but to move a point by clicking the scroller is quite a s*%t :lmao: i felt quite clumsy
nowonder is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.