Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-11-2005, 10:54 PM   #1
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Question Render Problem with my model - HELP!

Hi Guys,

I've made a transparent skin for my balsa wood fin, but the skin isn't rendering properly.

http://forums.simplymaya.com/attachm...&postid=174139
The main wing is rendering properly, but the tail isn't. Any Idea what could be the cause?

Thanks
Paul
Attached Thumbnails
 
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 02:51 AM   #2
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Just curious, what are your Mental Ray settings? It could be not enough anti-aliasing sampling, or the final gather min and max radius settings need adjusting. I'm no expert in MR, but I would check those 2 areas.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 03:08 AM   #3
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I've played with all that but I'm still not sure what's going on. The main wing renders OK.

I've attached the file if that helps.

Maya 6.0 File

I'm wondering if it could be something to do with the way I constructed the tail.

Thanks
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 09:12 AM   #4
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

I believe your problem is in the modeling itself. You had hidden geometry showing up in the MR render. Try a different modeling method, and avoid doing what you did in this pic I have attached.

Please don't take this the wrong way, just trying to help out.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by THX1138 : 09-11-2005 at 09:14 AM.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:15 AM   #5
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally posted by THX1138
Please don't take this the wrong way, just trying to help out.
No way I could take it the wrong way. Thank you for your help. I constructed the tail section in a strange way. It achieved the desired look, but obviously MR doesn't like what I did.

Below is the way I constructed it.

Thanks Again
Attached Thumbnails
 
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:22 AM   #6
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Your not going to believe this, but I just reconstucted it in the same way to illustrate what I did (in the above) and it seems to be working OK. I must have done something else. In any case I think the problem is gone.
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 11:22 AM   #7
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Yeah, You probably missed a step that first time out. Glad you have the problem solved! Tail section looks great now!
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 07:29 PM   #8
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Thanks Man, really appreciated your help. I'm hoping to get the V-tail and the folding prop done today.

Cheers
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2005, 12:49 PM   #9
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

BMS,

I'm into all aspects of R/C fixed wing and do a little nitro and electric helis too. Can't wait to see your model when it's finished.

I've started a model of an 87" Yak 54 that is produced by my buddy who owns his own company that designs and manufactures R/C aerobatic planes.

Steve
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didn’t have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
sjurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2005, 07:30 PM   #10
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally posted by sjurick
BMS,

my buddy who owns his own company that designs and manufactures R/C aerobatic planes.

Steve
Hey Steve,

That is one thing I would love to do! This model is my 6 year olds Training model. He can't land it yet but he seems to be able to keep it up OK.

It you want to see further progress pictures of it Go Here.

Cheers
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2005, 11:56 AM   #11
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mYou should really get used to model without Booleans.. they seem to mess up the surfaces alot and it will end up with you loosing control ! .. Booleans is a BIG NO NO !!
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2005, 07:38 PM   #12
sensensen
Registered User
 
sensensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by sjurick
BMS,

I'm into all aspects of R/C fixed wing and do a little nitro and electric helis too. Can't wait to see your model when it's finished.

I've started a model of an 87" Yak 54 that is produced by my buddy who owns his own company that designs and manufactures R/C aerobatic planes.

Steve
get the move tool and go on one vertice and then drag it to the one you want it to merge to whilst holding down either v or c, cant rmember, and it will snap to the vertice.
then you must merge them, highlight them both and go into polygons and click merge
__________________
maya works
sensensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 03:20 AM   #13
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info caligraphics. I've been using Maya close to a year now and I like using Booleans for speed, but when it causes problems it usually does it in a major way.

I'm learning slowly, thanks for the advice

Cheers
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2005, 01:26 AM   #14
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

wtf sensensen???? you make nooo sence.
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.