Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-11-2005, 09:31 PM   #1
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default A Simple Question

Just something that 'popped' in there while Ive been sitting here working on a new model, some of you may find this weird, some may find it obvious and some amusing. The question is:

Why do we do test renders, be them software or mental ray while we are still in the middle of a WIP without it being textured? Or better still if arms and legs are missing on a character

I know why I do it, but I'll wait and give you my answer later.

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2005, 10:33 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I do it for scene composition....so I can figure out if the geo needs tweaking to render better.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 09:52 AM   #3
darijo203
Registered User
 
darijo203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Croatia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmm....good question!

Well for some reason I dont trust what I see in the viewport...light bounce off is more detailed in the render...I can see the shadow, reflections...evrything that can help me to figure out the surface issues, relief, problems with seams, normals...
__________________
ICQ:215-024-460
darijo203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 07:45 PM   #4
utpal
Registered User
 
utpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: india
Posts: 203
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, during modeling, to see how much i can get away with.
for instance, if i have too many lines bunched up in a smaller area. in the viewport, they are not too obvious and you think its ok. but, while rendering they become more prominent.
so if they are showing up then i know that ok, i'll have to tweak them a bit...
utpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 08:09 PM   #5
blomkaal
Subscriber
 
blomkaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 816
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I agree with Darijo, rendering seems to be more precise than the viewport...
__________________
Liter is French for 'Gimme some ****ing cola before I break vous ****ing lips!"
blomkaal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2005, 10:44 PM   #6
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

and plus AO renders just make anything look damn cool
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2005, 06:11 AM   #7
swankymonkey
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I do renders for all the previous reasons mentioned, but Vlad has a very valid point. I'm a little embarrassed to say that I love using an occlusion node to do test renders that keep me fired up and motivated just because it makes the model look cool.

I feel so much better getting that off my chest.

Last edited by swankymonkey : 16-11-2005 at 06:16 AM.
swankymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2005, 09:27 AM   #8
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Gives me an excuse to get more coffee. I think i've got an addiction to the stuff.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2005, 11:28 AM   #9
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ckyuk
Gives me an excuse to get more coffee. I think i've got an addiction to the stuff.
Lol, that's a good one
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2005, 01:00 PM   #10
darijo203
Registered User
 
darijo203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Croatia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: A Simple Question

Originally posted by Jay


I know why I do it, but I'll wait and give you my answer later.

Cheers
Jay
Damn Jay we're still waiting...
__________________
ICQ:215-024-460
darijo203 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.