Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-12-2005, 10:43 AM   #1
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default Creating HDRI Images

Just had a bit of a thought and guessed you guys would be the best to run it past!

If I had a series of images in the correct format for HDRI's (24 bit Tif's I think would do??) could I use the Spherise tool in photoshop to create a basic light probe image, and then use the HDR shop software to compose the differently exposed images in to one hdr image??

I might be barking up the wrong tree but I just had a bit of a think about trying to create HDRI's in the most simple way so any comments would be great.

Cheers
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 09:08 PM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Thats a great idea! But you can save something like the probe as a JPG and just have HDR shop convert it to HDRI
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2005, 06:09 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Cool, gonna give it a try, I know you need to take pictures of various exposures to get the full range of lights.

Thought that this way you wouldn't have to play about with a chrome ball etc.

Anyone else got any ideas on this?
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 08:53 PM   #4
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

No you dont need any exposures... all you need is the probe and you adjust the exposure inside HDR shop./
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2005, 09:49 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Im sure to get the full benifit of using the HDRI map for real world reflections it's best to use different exposures, hence getting the high dynamic range, as a camera can't take a picture with the full range of exposures that our eyes can.

http://www.gregdowning.com/HDRI/stitched/

shows how the images are composed to form a full range image
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.