Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-12-2005, 01:47 AM   #16
varley
Registered User
 
varley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I took a look at the shading network...its the same as the tutorial in the video...the title of the page is the same as the vid too.:attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn:

http://smorigin.scm.cityu.edu.hk/int...t_1/index.html

Last edited by varley : 04-12-2005 at 01:51 AM.
varley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 02:00 AM   #17
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default Dust

Thanks that was really helpfull.
I'll get a picture of what it looks like later
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 06:00 AM   #18
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Heres it with dust. I need to work on it a bit more though.
Ive also darkend the wood and added more ropes
Attached Thumbnails
 
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 02:38 AM   #19
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I reckon i'm just about done with the textures. I've added more ropes and thinned out the older ones. now all thats left to do is the small details like frayed rope edges and chips in the wood.
Any more suggestions would be helpfull:p
Attached Thumbnails
 
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 08:57 AM   #20
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

looking good

I think the dust could be patchier though, especially if you look at the reference shot and the last one you did - the dust seems more dense on the higher edges or each part of the model.
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:19 AM   #21
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Originally posted by t1ck135

I think the dust could be patchier though, especially if you look at the reference shot and the last one you did - the dust seems more dense on the higher edges or each part of the model. [/b]
Ive gone back and made the dust a bit pachier. It's really hard to make it look realistick:headbang:
The reason it gets denser on the higher bits is because the dust is done with a ramp shader. I dont know how to fix the problem though Heres anatempt
Attached Thumbnails
 
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:37 AM   #22
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Quick render with water
Attached Thumbnails
 
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 01:09 AM   #23
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I Micht make another model. Ive got an old laptop that might be easy enough. Ive got 23 days.

Last edited by Some Guy : 09-12-2005 at 01:42 AM.
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 02:36 AM   #24
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Don't have a camera for references at the moment but here's it so far.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 02:49 AM   #25
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

And from the back
Attached Thumbnails
 
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 03:42 AM   #26
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Heres a photo. (I'm not gonna make the baby )
Also. Is there anyway to model the buttons without moddeling the buttons
Attached Thumbnails
 
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 09:28 AM   #27
cris007
Registered User
 
cris007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 192
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well you can try a bump map or displacement map. I reccomend the last as it actually "models" the buttons and gives far more realistic results. Or you could always model one and duplicate it.
Hope i was of some help.
cris007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:21 PM   #28
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

this is probably a stupid question but how do you make a displacement map? I tried a bump map but it looked really bad.:p
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 01:39 PM   #29
cris007
Registered User
 
cris007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 192
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

A displacement map is just like a bump map (a grayscale image). Haven't really used them myself but i assume the workflow is really similar to the bump map. Just that you need a pretty high number of polys for it to apply correctly, as it will actually change the modeling of the object. Sorry i can't be of more help but like i said i haven't tried displacement maps yet myself. You should check maya's help manual, search for some tutorials on the net or ask someone else here on the board. Hope it turns out ok in the end .

Last edited by cris007 : 09-12-2005 at 01:41 PM.
cris007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 01:45 PM   #30
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

In your hypershade, open up a texture. Middle moluse click on the arrow on the lower right corner of the texture tab and trag it over to your lambert material. A menu will appear. select displacement, and a bump node will appear. Do the same thing for your color.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by THX1138 : 09-12-2005 at 01:55 PM.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.