Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-12-2005, 04:51 AM   #1
winsome
Registered User
 
winsome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking How do i un-instance?

Hello,
am at maya again.
How do I convert an instanced object to a unique (uninstanced object)?

all help appreciated.

ThcX!
winsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 06:57 AM   #2
winsome
Registered User
 
winsome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, does that mean that maya has no way of doing that?
winsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 07:07 AM   #3
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

when duplicating the object make sure the settings are set to 'copy' not 'instance'. The resulting object will be separate from the original.
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 01:41 PM   #4
winsome
Registered User
 
winsome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, thx.
However that would be just a precaution, whats the cure?

How do I uninstance after I have already instanced several objects. I know how to do that in max, its called "make unique" and is a very simple thing to do.
winsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2005, 12:17 PM   #5
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by winsome
well, thx.
However that would be just a precaution, whats the cure?

How do I uninstance after I have already instanced several objects. I know how to do that in max, its called "make unique" and is a very simple thing to do.
im afraid the folks at alias didnt think that people woulld need an easy way to uninstance.

rather than using instance, u should duplicate your object
then in the connection editor, connect the outMesh of your original object to the inMesh of the duplicated object.
then when your are finished editing both, simply dusconnect the relationship.
this way is much better than duplicate instance option, because there's a lot more you can do with that level of control.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.