Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-11-2002, 07:33 PM   #1
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Multi monitors?

Just wandering if anyone here has had any experience using 2 monitors... I was thinking about getting a 15" LCD as a secondary, but then i realised I have no idea how the hell it would work.
Could you have say Maya open on one monitor and Photoshop or whatever open in the other? If so how do you switch between the two? Or are the two screens treated as one big "virtual" monitor ?
Thanks for any pointers..
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2002, 07:46 PM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I had a dual head monitor system back when I was using Win98se. I had two display adapters (one agp and one ancient pci card) in my PC and two monitors (19" + 14" lol) connected.

It worked otherwise nicely exept the pci card had no 3D acceleration thus rendering all 3D stuff slow. Now I can't use that system anymore since there is no driver for the pci adapter for windows 2000 .

Nowadays there are several cards which supports directly two monitors. I would love to get one of those some day.

The dual head system just enlarges the desktop area. Say if you have your second monitor in left side of your primary monitor, you could just drag the mouse cursor through the left edge of your prim monitor to the secondary monitor...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2002, 11:06 PM   #3
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i see... thanks for the info sounds cool.
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 04:00 PM   #4
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have been using a dual monitor setup since I started using computers professionally way back when in 1991. On a Mac it was easy, you just plugged another card in connected your monitor and could choose which was going to be the startup screen and arrange them left and right by dragging and dropping in the monitors control panel. Couldn't do it on a PC until Windows 98SE.

I have two 17" monitors connected to my PC which are exactly the same tis wonderful and they are not too expensive. In fact I prefer to having to 17" monitors to one single 20" screen since I get more real-estate. The card I use is an ELSA Gladdiac Twin View 511 with two VGA ports so they are both driven by that card and I have had no problems with it under Windows 98SE. You don't have to have a dual headed card, but I wanted identical screen images. You can rearrange your monitors like you do for the Mac using Win98.

Then Animation Master done the dirty on me and my files kept corrupting - too many drivers or something more like a load of old B******S if you ask me so I rebuilt my sysyem with Win2K. ELSA have gone bust so no new drivers. The ones I had didn't work as well, you could either clone the screens or have one massive desktop and dialogue boxes kept popping up split between twon monitors. This is useable but I prefer the mac/Win98SE setup.
So I have loaded the nVidia nView drivers and it kind of gets around this problem - still quite useable but I am a fussy bastard!

I have my eyes on a new GeForce 4 Ti 220 graphics card which supports multiple monitors and goes like shit off a shovel!!! Now I have to persuade the missus to let me buy it. Hope this helps you monitor maniacs... secret is I actually have three monitors but one is shitty so I use that on my Mac...
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2002, 05:19 PM   #5
Squid
Registered User
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's not all sweetness and light with Maya and Dual monitor set ups, to quote Alias:
Dual Monitor use is only supported on the specified systems. Be aware that with all dual monitors you may experience problems with windows always popping on or returning to the main screen instead of the alternate screen.
Best to check their "Qualified Hardware" list first.
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2002, 05:34 PM   #6
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

eeek.. sounds nasty - thanks for the tip off
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2002, 06:26 PM   #7
Squid
Registered User
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sadly, but at least there's a cure.
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2002, 06:35 PM   #8
Squid
Registered User
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

By the way kal, you can have a different program on each monitor which ever one you are working in is active while the other is in the background. I often have photoshop running on one with Quark on the other. Most of the time though I like to spread whatever I'm working in over both screens. Maya though is on a single monitor system here.
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 09:07 AM   #9
Hugh
Registered User
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you're looking for a specific dual-head card, the Matrox G550 is very nice - I've been using it for the past couple of years...

If you're up for spending a bit more, find a card with Matrox's Parhelia chip on it - that one can support up to 3 monitors, and has 3D capability close to the GF4
__________________
Hugh Macdonald

UnFramed Productions
Goodnight Opus - TD Lead

VFXTalk.com - Online Compositing Community - Admin
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 09:35 AM   #10
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, my dual head card gives me no trouble with Maya and when I rig my Mac up with two monitors I have no problems. I have Win2K at work and a 21" and a 15" monitor, this is where I get problems... When I move Maya windows over to the 15" screen the picture gets all garbled up. Other programs work O.K. but not Maya.

Still it is handy since you can have tutorials on the small screen and work in Maya on the big screen.
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 05:58 PM   #11
.:morpher:.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have 2 19" monitors and an Ati Radeon 9700 card and I really love it. On the one monitor I have the whole Maya GUI and on the other one I just have the perspective view. I havent had any problems so far- I got my card only 2 weeks ago
__________________
CU morpher
.:morpher:. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 07:31 PM   #12
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by .:morpher:.
I have 2 19" monitors and an Ati Radeon 9700 card and I really love it. On the one monitor I have the whole Maya GUI and on the other one I just have the perspective view. I havent had any problems so far- I got my card only 2 weeks ago
now that does sound very sweet indeed...
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2002, 12:44 AM   #13
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i was thikning about haveing my main monitor (19") for maya use, and have a second monitor (15") which is raised about a foot off the desk, does this mean that the taskbar which runs along the bottom would be split between the 2 monitors?
what are the possible display options for 2monitors? like how can they be split?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2002, 01:05 AM   #14
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

same as kbrown.. i used my agp card as the primary and an ATI 8 mb pci card as the secondary... since i have upgraded from 98se to XP... i have been having some troubles.... ... so i removed it... i ran the primary on a Viewsonic 17" E70F monitor and an LG 17 f700b... well nem, i dont think you can split the taskbar ,
the onlything u can do is run an indivisual program in each.
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2002, 01:56 AM   #15
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

cant you specify a main monitor, and everything would be there, then specify a secondary monitor where you can just move things to? im sure theres a program which does this for you?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.