Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-12-2005, 07:09 AM   #1
nnng2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Major Sub-D glitch!

Hi,

I was well into modeling a character for a short movie and I ran into into this weird bug:

whenever I convert an a poly object into subsurface division (alt+`) it works fine:

Before conversion:
http://www.student.cs.uwaterloo.ca/~.../3d/help/1.jpg

After conversion:
http://www.student.cs.uwaterloo.ca/~.../3d/help/2.jpg

so far so good.

The trouble begins whenever I undo that conversion (using 'z' key), the resulting shape is some sort of mix between poly and sub-d surface:

http://www.student.cs.uwaterloo.ca/~.../problems1.jpg

a closer look:

http://www.student.cs.uwaterloo.ca/~...lems_zoom1.jpg

There seems to be some sort of residual cage underneath, you can see it when I move the vertices. That cage seems to be unselectable as well:


http://www.student.cs.uwaterloo.ca/~...lems_zoom2.jpg


If anyone knows how to fix this, your help is greatly appreciated. I've pretty much stopped all modeling trying to find out how to fix this.

Thanks
nnng2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2005, 07:56 AM   #2
Turbo Dan
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive run into this problem as well.
although im not sure what triggers it
from my expirence the only time it happens is when i go back and forth using ctrl+z a lot of times it eventually glitches.

but ive almost never been able to fix it, im usually lucky and can undo past where it started or reload the scene file.
cant tell you how to manually fix it other than be careful and save a lot.

if your scared its gonna happen again, maybe try convert to polys, then duplicate the object and delete the old one and work with the new fresh one
__________________
First year 3D Grad
Turbo Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2005, 09:51 AM   #3
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hey dudes

Okay this can happen occasionally with SDs but dont panic its not major.

Usually its best to re convert thru the menu instead of ctrl_z all the time (lazy)

Put a shortcut on a shelf for conversion to and from SD.

Okay back to the problem, go to the hypergraph and select the mesh and show the upstream and down stream connections. You will have an extra poly node in there that needs to be deleted. Also you may have SD blind data nodes in there as well which is basically history of the sd, just delete those, that should rectify the prob

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2005, 06:35 PM   #4
nnng2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

YEAH!

thanks jay, that worked perfectly!

now I get back to modeling!
nnng2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2005, 07:29 PM   #5
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Cool no probs

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.