Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-01-2006, 10:35 PM   #1
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default vladimir jan/feb norm

i think i ll make a lizard.

this is a komodo dragon. these things are real and they are hughes beasts.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Image dump

Last edited by vladimirjp : 02-01-2006 at 10:39 PM.
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 10:39 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hughe animals
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 11:24 PM   #3
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Nice one Vlad ..should be a breeze for you
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 11:30 PM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

just started today. not much to show.

ill post more soon.

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d4...doDragon01.jpg
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 12:15 AM   #5
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Ummm... are you allowed to use XSI? I understand taht you can use ZBrush, as ZBrush is part of the SimplyMax forums... but XSI is not part of any Simply site.


now- to the crits: I have loads.

Oh... wait I seem to have forgotten.

no crits from me! excellent model so far, and the topology is ace!
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 12:48 AM   #6
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i dont think the modeling matters much as for what app is used. but i intend to use maya for rendering and rigging.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 01:29 AM   #7
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Ah well. No matter.

But is xsi purely a subdivision surface modeler, or does it have a poly modeling and spline modeling system too?? just wonderin
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 03:15 AM   #8
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

yea xsi has all sorts of modeling toolsets.

it has superfast subDs. [modo fast]
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 07:36 AM   #9
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

I appologise for chiming in on this vladimirjp, but you might want to read rule number 4 in the Rules and Guidelines thread reguarding what modeling Applications are acceptable for this challenge. Again, my apologies for bringing this up.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 10:58 AM   #10
markemark
Lifetime Member
 
markemark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's a real shame because the head is looking perfect.

Can he not export it to Maya and continue from there?
Fingers crossed!

Mark
__________________
Mark

www.40towers.co.uk
www.soretro.org
markemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 03:03 PM   #11
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hehe, of course.
i can finish the modeling in maya.

i only UV in maya anyways.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 03:58 PM   #12
metallicjet66
Subscriber
 
metallicjet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida, U.S.A
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

umm...i think u need to model the whole thing in maya....if u havent noticed, but this is Simplymaya, not simply xsi/maya
__________________
Aim:Nshad BB Court
msn:nothinbutchains@hotmail.com
metallicjet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 04:49 PM   #13
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by metallicjet66
umm...i think u need to model the whole thing in maya....if u havent noticed, but this is Simplymaya, not simply xsi/maya
yea, buddy, modeling is modeling no matter what app its done in.

its not like i cant continue modeling in maya since polygons are different in maya.. they are all the same, savvy?

as i said id finish modeling and rendering in maya, comprende?
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 05:10 PM   #14
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

I think I agree with vlad, cuz, see, the Mountain did not say anything about it, and he checks all the time.
I'm going to be doing alot of cross-app modeling myself, so I'm not gonna say anything else.

and to vlad:

UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE NOW! :lmao:
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 06:55 PM   #15
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

since only head is required for this challenge,

this is the shot ill go for.

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d4...odo-dragon.jpg

ill probably complete the entire model later on..


time for some zbrush.


http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d4...odoShotCam.jpg
http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d4..._hughes/kd.jpg
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.