Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-01-2006, 05:49 PM   #1
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default loop movie texture

hi, I have a 46frame movie texture in maya 6.5 I would like to loop. I already created a massive movie file by pasting and adding the file to itself in quick time. But having a 260mb .mov cannot be the sollution, especially because I need something quite long now.
I tried to modify the expression attached to the frameextension of my texture.
I don't have maya on this machine, but my epression attemt was someting like this:

movie01.framextension = frame;

if (frame < 46)
movie01.framextension = 0;

I tried to tell maya to jump back to the start of my movie after it is done, but It didn't work and I am not relly good with maths (to be precise I am an idiot)

So I'm asking you guys for help and to laugh at my pathetic expression

I also put this thread in the mel and programming forum since i didn't really know where it belongs to

thanks for any help!
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2006, 03:33 PM   #2
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

funny to answer my own question. But the screaming and yelling at the screen finally helped:attn:
So for anyone who has the same problem here is a sollution. The trick is to work without an expressin. So you delete the default expression maya attaches to the frame extension.
Next you keyframe the frame extension, put the first keyframe where you want your clip to start and the last one according to the number of frames your clip has.
Then open the graph editor select the frame extension curve and set it to oscilate or infinity.

have fun
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2006, 10:19 PM   #3
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

thx for sharing!
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2006, 10:50 AM   #4
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

welcome!
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carton Love [ Short movie ] ColdWave Work In Progress 19 03-01-2011 09:55 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.