Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-01-2006, 02:23 PM   #1
Sephiroth II
Subscriber
 
Sephiroth II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to...ribbon

I'm doing concept models for an animated short me and my siblings are planning on making. Does anyone know how to make a ribbon? It's for one of our characters "outfits". I need to make a ribbon that I can tie up into a bow-like knot. Thnx!
__________________
My password is ********.
Sephiroth II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 02:33 PM   #2
Tim_LIVID
Subscriber
 
Tim_LIVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwich, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

One way of doing it would be just to have a flat plane and just rig it as you would a character.

I don't know how hard that would be animate but that's one way of doing it.
__________________
"You can live for yourself today -- or help build tomorrow for everyone" _LIVID

Optical Minefield
My Blog
Tim_LIVID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 06:08 PM   #3
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

another way is drawing a profile curve with epcurve tool create a circle and manip to shape attach as mothin path

note u will need to set some keys so that it does not distort so follow the shape along and and set thr roate where it needs so it dont distort and it should look ok

and create animation snap shot and set incremet to 1 or .5 depending on the size of ur model, loft the new circles and wola
then u can clean up and delete the unneccessary circles are u have deleted the ribbons hist
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973

Last edited by pbman : 18-01-2006 at 06:35 PM.
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 06:59 PM   #4
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://www.digitaltutors.com/digital...ails.php?v=715

thats how to make a ribbon for a prezzy, not exactly the same n i havnt watched it myself but it may help you out
Good luck
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 12:54 AM   #5
Sephiroth II
Subscriber
 
Sephiroth II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thnx

Thanks everyone! I'll try those ideas, thnx!
__________________
My password is ********.
Sephiroth II is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.